Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Connecticut contractor license renewal rules

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

License types
17
Licensing boards
2
Trades
6

Electrical3 license types

Limited electrical contractor licenses (combined entry)

C-5, C-7, L-1, L-5, T-1, PV-1 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
4 hours
Show CE rules4 credit hours per year (not required before the first renewal); all CE must be completed by June 30 each year (3 months before the Sept 30 renewal); courses must be approved by the CT Electrical Board; holder attests completion at renewal and keeps certificates 4 years for audit; failure can bring civil fines/suspension; hardship waiver possible.
Deadline rule
All electrical licenses expire annually on September 30.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $150
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $15 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected]. Limited scopes: low-voltage/alarm (C-5, L-5), signs (C-7), lines (L-1), telephone interconnect (T-1), solar electric (PV-1). Journeyperson counterparts (C-6, C-8, L-2, L-6, T-2, PV-2) renew at $120. CE applicability to every limited class is assumed from the Electrician CE page but not separately confirmed.

Unlimited Electrical Contractor

E-1 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
4 hours
Show CE rules4 credit hours per year (not required before the first renewal); all CE must be completed by June 30 each year (3 months before the Sept 30 renewal); courses must be approved by the CT Electrical Board; holder attests completion at renewal and keeps certificates 4 years for audit; failure can bring civil fines/suspension; hardship waiver possible.
Deadline rule
All electrical licenses expire annually on September 30.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $150
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $15 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected].

Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson

E-2 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
4 hours
Show CE rules4 credit hours per year (not required before the first renewal); all CE must be completed by June 30 each year (3 months before the Sept 30 renewal); courses must be approved by the CT Electrical Board; holder attests completion at renewal and keeps certificates 4 years for audit; failure can bring civil fines/suspension; hardship waiver possible.
Deadline rule
All electrical licenses expire annually on September 30.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $120
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $12 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected]. Journeyperson may work only in the employ of a licensed electrical contractor.

General contractor3 license types

Home Improvement Contractor Registration (residential remodeling)

HIC · State registration · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
All registrations expire annually on March 31; renewal notices ~30 days before; renewals must be submitted and paid online only (no paper/mail/drop box).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $220
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $22 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Reinstatement within 3 years of expiration via online form; reinstated registration expires next March 31; GL insurance of about $20,000 required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability insurance of not less than $20,000 required (Public Act 21-197, eff. 7/1/2022); insurer name and policy number entered at online renewal.
Notes

Required to contract with a consumer for work on residential property, including roofs, siding, etc.; not required for work covered under a trade license, commercial property, sub-contracted work or contracts under $200. Registers individual or legal entity (LLC registration does not cover the individual and vice versa); legal entities must be registered with CT Secretary of State and hold Certificate of Good Standing. Initial application fee $220 non-refundable; renewal $220. Licensing email [email protected]. Roofing is a home improvement category in CT; no separate state roofing license exists.

Major Contractor Registration (commercial threshold buildings)

MCR · State registration · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
All Major Contractor registrations expire annually on June 30.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $500
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $50 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Reinstatement allowed within 3 years of expiration with reinstatement form + fees (online via eLicense); reapply after 3 years.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

No general contractor license exists in CT outside these registrations; GCs working on non-threshold commercial buildings face no state registration (local building permits still apply). Required for construction, structural repair/alteration/demolition of 'threshold' buildings (4+ stories, 60 ft, 150 ft clear span, 150,000 sq ft, or occupancy 1,000+; other special-use thresholds), including subcontractors doing roofing, masonry or structural framework on such buildings. Excludes residential property (HIC), new homes (NHC) and work under a trade license. Legal entities must first register with the CT Secretary of State; two credit references required at initial application; applications online only. Insurance/bond requirement not stated on the DCP page. Renewal fee $500.00.

New Home Construction Contractor Registration

NHC · State registration · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Registrations expire annually on March 31 (changed from Sept 30 by Public Act 21-197).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $360
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)The Commissioner may charge a late fee of 10 percent of the renewal fee (minimum about $10, maximum about $100) for renewals after March 31 (CGS 21a-4(c)); all outstanding fees must be paid before renewal.
Reinstatement
Reinstatement within 3 years via online form; reinstated registration expires next March 31.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability insurance of not less than $20,000 (Public Act 21-197); insurer name and policy number provided at renewal.
Notes

Required for building new single-family, two-family or condo units (including modular) or portions before occupancy; contracts for the same new home totaling under $3,500 are exempt. Annual renewal totals $360: the registration renewal fee equals the $120 application fee (CGS 20-417b(b) and (d)) plus the $240 annual New Home Construction Guaranty Fund fee paid with each renewal (CGS 20-417i(b)). DCP lists the new registration fee as $360. An additional $100 guaranty fund fee applies to add home improvement services. Renewals are online only. Trade license holders are exempt for work within their license scope.

HVAC3 license types

Limited heating/cooling/gas-burner/warm-air contractor licenses (combined entry)

B-1, B-3, D-1, D-3, G-1, S-3, S-7, S-9 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
All heating, cooling and sheet metal work licenses expire annually on August 31.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $150
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $15 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected]. Journeyperson counterparts (B-2, B-4, D-2, D-4, G-2, S-4, S-8, OE-2) renew at $120. Each limited license has its own scope (e.g., D-1 warm air/AC/refrigeration; D-3 cooling; B-class burners; G-1 gas piping).

Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Contractor

S-1 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
All heating, cooling and sheet metal work licenses expire annually on August 31.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $150
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $15 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected]. Limited contractor licenses (B-1, B-3, D-1, D-3, G-1, S-3, S-7, S-9, PP-1 etc.) are also $150 contractor-level annual renewals expiring Aug 31 (see combined entry).

Unlimited Heating, Piping and Cooling Journeyperson

S-2 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
All heating, cooling and sheet metal work licenses expire annually on August 31.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $120
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $12 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected]. Journeyperson must work in employ of a licensed contractor.

Pest control3 license types

Commercial Junior Operator Certification

Operator · State license · Connecticut DEEP - Pesticide Management Program

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Every 5 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesNo continuing education credits are required to renew a junior operator certificate. Instead, the operator must complete re-certification training (for example the PERC "Pesticide Safety Training for Non-certified Applicators" video, with a certified supervisor or PERC-certified trainer present) before handling pesticides and repeat it every year; the trainer keeps a training record with the operator name, certification number and expiration date, training date, trainer and course title.
Deadline rule
Must be renewed before the expiration date on the certificate; DEEP emails renewal information beforehand.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $80
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

$80 renewal fee every 5 years; $200 exam fee (+ $29 proctor fee). Operators apply pesticides under a certified supervisor's instructions. Notify DEEP of address/email change within 30 days.

Confidence: MediumMostly confirmed from official pages, some details are older or partly confirmedLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Commercial Pesticide Supervisor Certification

Supervisor · State license · Connecticut DEEP - Pesticide Management Program

Renewal cycle
Every 5 years
Continuing education
12 hours
Show CE rules12 continuing education credits per certification category per 5-year cycle (credits cannot be double counted across categories except limited core credits); earned before expiration; must also submit all outstanding Annual Pesticide Use Summary Reports (DEEP may refuse to renew if missing).
Deadline rule
Certifications renew every 5 years and expire on January 31 of the renewal year; renewal notices emailed ~90 days before expiration.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $285
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Every company applying pesticides commercially must have a certified supervisor. $285 licensing fee paid at issuance and at each 5-year renewal; $200 exam fee. Phone (860) 424-3369, [email protected]. Structural pest control (exterminator) falls under DEEP, not DCP. Late renewal and lapse rules are not published by DEEP; contact the Pesticide Management Program before the January 31 expiration.

Confidence: MediumMostly confirmed from official pages, some details are older or partly confirmedLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Pesticide Application Business Registration

PMBR · State registration · Connecticut DEEP - Pesticide Management Program

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Certificate of Registration runs September 1 through August 31 and renews annually; renewal notices ~90 days before expiration, renewed online.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $240
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

$240 annual fee applies if the business employs more than one certified applicator (supervisor or operator); a business with only one certified supervisor must register but pays no fee. Separate registration and fee per place of business and per business name. Must display PMBR number on vehicles and ads. Penalty for violations up to $5,000/day (CGS 22a-66h). Update account within 30 days of changes.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (1)

Plumbing3 license types

Limited plumbing contractor licenses (combined entry)

J-1, J-3, P-7, P-9, SP-1, PP-1 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
5 hours
Show CE rulesUnlimited and limited contractors and unlimited journeyperson: 5 credit hours every two years; limited journeyperson 3 hours every two years; no CE for P-6, P-7, PP-1, PP-2. Contractors complete CE between Aug 1 of an EVEN year and July 31 two years later; journeypersons Aug 1 of an ODD year to July 31 two years later (3 months before the Oct 31 renewal). Courses approved by the CT Plumbing Board; holder attests at renewal and keeps records 4 years.
Deadline rule
All plumbing and pipefitting licenses expire annually on October 31.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $150
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $15 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected]. Journeyperson counterparts (J-2, J-4, P-6, P-8, SP-2, PP-2) renew at $120. Limited contractor CE is 5 hours/2 yrs; limited journeyperson 3 hours/2 yrs; none for P-6, P-7, PP-1, PP-2.

Unlimited Journeyperson Plumber

P-2 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
5 hours
Show CE rulesUnlimited and limited contractors and unlimited journeyperson: 5 credit hours every two years; limited journeyperson 3 hours every two years; no CE for P-6, P-7, PP-1, PP-2. Contractors complete CE between Aug 1 of an EVEN year and July 31 two years later; journeypersons Aug 1 of an ODD year to July 31 two years later (3 months before the Oct 31 renewal). Courses approved by the CT Plumbing Board; holder attests at renewal and keeps records 4 years.
Deadline rule
All plumbing and pipefitting licenses expire annually on October 31.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $120
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $12 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected]. Journeyperson works only in employ of a licensed contractor.

Unlimited Plumbing Contractor

P-1 · State license · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
5 hours
Show CE rulesUnlimited and limited contractors and unlimited journeyperson: 5 credit hours every two years; limited journeyperson 3 hours every two years; no CE for P-6, P-7, PP-1, PP-2. Contractors complete CE between Aug 1 of an EVEN year and July 31 two years later; journeypersons Aug 1 of an ODD year to July 31 two years later (3 months before the Oct 31 renewal). Courses approved by the CT Plumbing Board; holder attests at renewal and keeps records 4 years.
Deadline rule
All plumbing and pipefitting licenses expire annually on October 31.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $150
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $15 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement (lapsed >90 days): file reinstatement form + fee within 3 years of expiration (DCP trade-license pages; CGS 21a-4(e)); applicant attests no work in CT while lapsed, pays current year's renewal fee and completes CE required for the preceding year and the year of reinstatement; if worked while lapsed, pays all license and late fees owed for the lapsed period. After 3 years must reapply and retest. (CGS 20-335 text mentions 2 years; DCP pages and 21a-4 say 3 years.)

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Licenses are issued to individuals only (company applications not accepted); renewal notices emailed ~30-45 days before expiration; online renewal via DCP eLicense (User ID/password or Fast Track PIN). Renewal fee ($150 contractor / $120 journeyperson) confirmed in both DCP page and CGS 20-335. No bond or insurance requirement found for the trade license. DCP phone 860-713-6100; licensing email [email protected].

Roofing2 license types

Home Improvement Contractor Registration (residential roofing)

HIC · State registration · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
All registrations expire annually on March 31; renewal notices ~30 days before; renewals must be submitted and paid online only (no paper/mail/drop box).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $220
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $22 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Reinstatement within 3 years of expiration via online form; reinstated registration expires next March 31; GL insurance of about $20,000 required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability insurance of not less than $20,000 required (Public Act 21-197, eff. 7/1/2022); insurer name and policy number entered at online renewal.
Notes

Required to contract with a consumer for work on residential property, including roofs, siding, etc.; not required for work covered under a trade license, commercial property, sub-contracted work or contracts under $200. Registers individual or legal entity (LLC registration does not cover the individual and vice versa); legal entities must be registered with CT Secretary of State and hold Certificate of Good Standing. Initial application fee $220 non-refundable; renewal $220. Licensing email [email protected]. Roofing is a home improvement category in CT; no separate state roofing license exists.

Major Contractor Registration (commercial threshold-building roofing)

MCR · State registration · Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
All Major Contractor registrations expire annually on June 30.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DCP may accept a renewal application for up to 90 days after expiration with the late fee and no reinstatement application (CGS 21a-4(d)); the licensee may not work while the license is lapsed. For trade licenses, CGS 20-335 separately says the board may renew a license if the application is received no later than one month after expiration; confirm timing with DCP.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $500
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late fee may be imposed by the Commissioner equal to 10% of the renewal fee (min about $10, max about $100) under CGS 21a-4(c): about $50 for this license; the DCP-published actual amount was not found.
Reinstatement
Reinstatement allowed within 3 years of expiration with reinstatement form + fees (online via eLicense); reapply after 3 years.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Required for construction, structural repair/alteration/demolition of 'threshold' buildings (4+ stories, 60 ft, 150 ft clear span, 150,000 sq ft, or occupancy 1,000+; other special-use thresholds), including subcontractors doing roofing, masonry or structural framework on such buildings. Excludes residential property (HIC), new homes (NHC) and work under a trade license. Legal entities must first register with the CT Secretary of State; two credit references required at initial application; applications online only. Insurance/bond requirement not stated on the DCP page. Renewal fee $500.00.

Licensing boards

Connecticut DEEP - Pesticide Management Program

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational & Professional Licensing (Electrical, Plumbing & Piping, Heating/Piping/Cooling/Sheet Metal Examining Boards)

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Get your Connecticut renewal dates into one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.