Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Missouri contractor license renewal rules

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

License types
6
Licensing boards
4
Trades
6

Electrical1 license type

Statewide Electrical Contractor License (optional)

SEC · State license · Missouri Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (Division of Professional Registration)

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every third year (cycle: 2020, 2023, 2026, 2029). The 2026 renewal deadline (Sept 30, 2026) has passed; the next is September 30, 2029. Renewal notices are mailed about 90 days before expiry (20 CSR 2117-2.030). Renew through the MOPRO online system.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None; failure to renew by Sept 30 puts the license on inactive (lapsed) status immediately.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $100
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)No separate late fee is listed in the fee schedule (20 CSR 2117-1.070). A license not renewed by the deadline is placed on inactive/lapsed status, and the licensee must keep paying the inactive triennial renewal fee each cycle.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Lapsed license may be restored within 2 years of the renewal date by submitting the reinstatement form and the about $250 reinstatement fee (20 CSR 2117-2.050); a license not renewed for 2 years is void (20 CSR 2117-2.030(7)). Voluntary inactive status carries an inactive triennial renewal fee and a $100 reactivation fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Proof of liability insurance of $500,000 required for application (RSMo 324.920.1(1)); applicant must also post any bond a political subdivision requires in each jurisdiction where it works and show proof to the state. Workers' compensation is governed by other state law (not set by OSEC).
Notes

The statewide license is optional. It only matters if the contractor wants one license recognized in all Missouri political subdivisions; a contractor holding the needed local license, or working where no license is required, does not need it (RSMo 324.920.4). It licenses a supervisory-level qualifier on behalf of the firm (one firm at a time). Permits and inspections remain local, and contractors working in cities such as Kansas City, St. Louis, Springfield and Columbia must still follow local rules. The triennial renewal fee is $100 on the Office fee page; an emergency amendment to 20 CSR 2117-1.070 published June 15, 2026 cut it from $200 to $100 for the 2026 renewals. The inactive triennial renewal fee is listed as $200 on the fee page but $100 in the rule text, so confirm with the Office.

General contractor1 license type

General contractor (municipal)

Local / county license · Kansas City, MO City Planning and Development, Permits Division (contractor licensing)

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Missouri has no statewide license for this trade. The Division of Professional Registration licenses electrical contractors only among the construction trades, and a 2026 bill for a statewide mechanical contractor license (SB 957) stayed in committee. Licensing is done by cities and counties, and each sets its own classes, fees, renewal periods and insurance rules; local licenses do not transfer between jurisdictions. There is no state general contractor license. Kansas City licenses residential building contractors (with a Residential Building Supervisor certificate) for one- and two-family homes and townhouses, requires $1,000,000 per occurrence liability insurance with the city named as additional insured where required, and requires the city business license to be renewed first. The City of St. Louis requires a contractor business license from the License Collector. Other cities and counties such as St. Louis County, St. Charles County, Springfield and Columbia set their own rules.

HVAC1 license type

HVAC / mechanical contractor (municipal licenses)

Local / county license

Remind me before this expires

No official link on file. Check with the board.

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Missouri has no statewide license for this trade. The Division of Professional Registration licenses electrical contractors only among the construction trades, and a 2026 bill for a statewide mechanical contractor license (SB 957) stayed in committee. Licensing is done by cities and counties, and each sets its own classes, fees, renewal periods and insurance rules; local licenses do not transfer between jurisdictions. Examples: Kansas City requires a mechanical contractor license for the business plus a Mechanical Supervisor or Master Pipe Fitter certificate of qualification for the qualifier, applied for and renewed in CompassKC after the city business license is renewed (City Planning and Development, Permits Division, (816) 513-1500 ext. 1 option 2, [email protected]). The City of St. Louis issues mechanical permits only to mechanical contractors licensed by its Building Division (Mechanical Section, 314-622-3313). St. Louis County licenses mechanical contractors through its Department of Transportation and Public Works.

Pest control1 license type

Certified Commercial Applicator (structural categories 7A General Structural, 7B Termite, 7C and others)

Commercial Applicator · State license · Missouri Department of Agriculture - Bureau of Pesticide Control

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesCertification must be renewed every 3 years by attending a recertification program approved by the MDA Bureau of Pesticide Control (for example University of Missouri Extension training each January) or by re-examination. Since January 1, 2025, certified applicators must recertify in every category on the license plus CORE. The number of credit hours is not stated by the department. Categories 7A, 7B and 7C require verified pesticide-use experience in the category (or an approved degree) for initial certification.
Deadline rule
Licenses expire annually (commercial applicator expiry date is printed on the license; the exact calendar date was not stated on the web pages read). Certification must be renewed every 3 years.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
60-day grace period after license expiration.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $65
Late fee
Renewing after expiration costs the about $65 license fee plus a 25% late penalty (about $16.25).
Reinstatement
Licenses and certifications are canceled if not renewed before the grace period ends; applicant must then re-qualify (exams) as a new applicant.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Evidence of financial responsibility (surety bond or liability insurance) of not less than $50,000 per occurrence is required before initial license issuance (RSMo 281.065); must be maintained at the business location, available for inspection, and cannot lapse; insurer must notify the director before cancellation. Not re-submitted at renewal unless requested.
Notes

Missouri licenses structural pest control through the commercial applicator license under the Missouri Pesticide Use Act (Ch. 281 RSMo); there is no separate structural pest control board. The license fee is $65 per year. Renew online through MOPlants or by mailing the fee with the signed renewal card. Pesticide Technicians (general-use pesticides only, under supervision) are licensed separately.

Confidence: MediumMostly confirmed from official pages, some details are older or partly confirmedLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (3)

Plumbing1 license type

Master / Journeyman Plumber (municipal licenses)

Local / county license

Remind me before this expires

No official link on file. Check with the board.

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Missouri has no statewide license for this trade. The Division of Professional Registration licenses electrical contractors only among the construction trades, and a 2026 bill for a statewide mechanical contractor license (SB 957) stayed in committee. Licensing is done by cities and counties, and each sets its own classes, fees, renewal periods and insurance rules; local licenses do not transfer between jurisdictions. Examples: Kansas City requires a plumbing contractor license for the business, supervised by a Master Plumber certificate holder, with Journeyman or Master Plumber certificates for workers on most non-residential work; the plumbing contractor must keep $1,000,000 per occurrence liability insurance on file (certificate filed annually) and a cash deposit of at least $500 with the city (Code Sec. 18-327). The City of St. Louis Plumbers and Drainlayers Board of Examiners and St. Louis County license plumbers in their areas.

Roofing1 license type

Roofing contractor (municipal)

Local / county license

Remind me before this expires

No official link on file. Check with the board.

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Missouri has no statewide license for this trade. The Division of Professional Registration licenses electrical contractors only among the construction trades, and a 2026 bill for a statewide mechanical contractor license (SB 957) stayed in committee. Licensing is done by cities and counties, and each sets its own classes, fees, renewal periods and insurance rules; local licenses do not transfer between jurisdictions. There is no state roofing license. Some cities require a contractor license or registration for roofing work; in Kansas City, building work on one- and two-family homes and townhouses requires a residential building contractor license with $1,000,000 per occurrence liability insurance on file (Code Sec. 18-327). Check with the city or county where the job is located.

Confidence: MediumMostly confirmed from official pages, some details are older or partly confirmedLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (4)

Licensing boards

City of St. Louis Building Division

Kansas City, MO City Planning and Development, Permits Division (contractor licensing)

Missouri Department of Agriculture - Bureau of Pesticide Control

Missouri Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (Division of Professional Registration)

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Get your Missouri renewal dates into one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.