Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Montana contractor license renewal rules

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

License types
8
Licensing boards
4
Trades
6

Electrical2 license types

Electrical Contractor (limited/unlimited)

EC · State license · Montana State Electrical Board (Dept. of Labor & Industry, Business Standards Division)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
16 hours
Show CE rules16 hours of continuing education per two-year renewal period, at least 8 of them on NEC updates (ARM 24.141.2102). Courses must be approved by the Department (approval number on the certificate); courses approved by reciprocal states are accepted. Licensees keep completion certificates and may be randomly audited; basic electric and apprentice-level courses do not count. New graduates of approved apprenticeship programs are exempt for their first renewal; licensees moving up from journeyman or residential are not exempt.
Deadline rule
July 15 of even-numbered years (next: July 15, 2028; last cycle July 15, 2026). Renewal opens 60 days before expiration; online system available 24/7 but staff help ends 5 pm.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period on the renewal date itself; 45-day lapsed window and 2-year expired window apply (see reinstatement_rule).

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $210
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late penalty fee = 100% of the renewal fee, in addition to the renewal fee, for each renewal period missed (ARM 24.101.403(2)); applies even when the renewal fee has been abated (100% of the un-abated fee). Online renewals must be submitted before 11:59 pm Mountain time on the renewal date (ARM 24.101.413).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)ARM 24.101.408: license not renewed by the renewal date is lapsed - may be reactivated within 45 days by renewing and paying fees (practicing while lapsed is not unlicensed practice); after 45 days it expires - may still be reactivated within 2 years of the renewal date (practicing while expired is unlicensed practice); after 2 years it terminates and a new original license (incl. exam if applicable) is required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
No general liability amount set by the Board. Must show compliance with Montana Workers' Compensation (out-of-state contractors must have coverage valid in Montana) AND Montana Unemployment Insurance, or hold an Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate (ARM 24.141.505); proof submitted within 10 days of renewal. Must also designate a Montana-licensed responsible electrician (Master for unlimited, Journeyman for limited) employed full-time via the Acknowledgement of Responsibility form; a master may be responsible electrician for only one unlimited contractor.
Notes

Fee: ARM 24.141.405 (amended effective May 25, 2024) sets the two-year contractor renewal fee at $210 and the original contractor license fee at $210. An older Board renewal form still shows $300; the rule amount applies and the portal shows the amount due. Renewal fees for the 2026 cycle were abated 50%, so the amount charged in a given cycle can be lower than the rule amount; the late penalty is based on the full fee. An unlimited contractor designates a master electrician and a limited contractor a journeyman (ARM 24.141.505). Montana also requires a Construction Contractor License from DLI for contractors with employees (see general_contractor). Local building departments issue permits.

Master Electrician (responsible electrician for unlimited contractor)

MASTER · State license · Montana State Electrical Board (Dept. of Labor & Industry, Business Standards Division)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
16 hours
Show CE rules16 hours of continuing education per two-year renewal period, at least 8 of them on NEC updates (ARM 24.141.2102). Courses must be approved by the Department (approval number on the certificate); courses approved by reciprocal states are accepted. Licensees keep completion certificates and may be randomly audited; basic electric and apprentice-level courses do not count. New graduates of approved apprenticeship programs are exempt for their first renewal; licensees moving up from journeyman or residential are not exempt.
Deadline rule
July 15 of even-numbered years (next: July 15, 2028; last cycle July 15, 2026). Renewal opens 60 days before expiration; online system available 24/7 but staff help ends 5 pm.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period on the renewal date itself; 45-day lapsed window and 2-year expired window apply (see reinstatement_rule).

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $140
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late penalty fee = 100% of the renewal fee, in addition to the renewal fee, for each renewal period missed (ARM 24.101.403(2)); applies even when the renewal fee has been abated (100% of the un-abated fee). Online renewals must be submitted before 11:59 pm Mountain time on the renewal date (ARM 24.101.413).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)ARM 24.101.408: license not renewed by the renewal date is lapsed - may be reactivated within 45 days by renewing and paying fees (practicing while lapsed is not unlicensed practice); after 45 days it expires - may still be reactivated within 2 years of the renewal date (practicing while expired is unlicensed practice); after 2 years it terminates and a new original license (incl. exam if applicable) is required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Individual licenses (Master, Journeyman, Residential) each renew at $140 for two years per ARM 24.141.405(4); same July 15 even-year date and CE as the contractor license. 2026 cycle was abated 50%. Journeyman and Residential electrician entries omitted (same fee/dates).

General contractor1 license type

Construction Contractor License

CCL · State license · Montana Construction Contractor License Program (Dept. of Labor & Industry)

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Renews on the anniversary date of issuance; renewal opens 60 days before the expiration date. DLI does not state the license term on its CCL pages, FAQ or rule notice; check the expiration date on the license.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $70
Late fee
Late renewal fee about $70, in addition to the about $70 renewal fee (per DLI CCL page, citing ARM 24.101.103(2)).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)The general DLI rule (ARM 24.101.408) lets a lapsed license be reactivated within 45 days, and an expired license within 2 years of the renewal date, by renewing and paying fees; after that a new application is needed. DLI's CCL pages do not state a separate rule.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Contractors with employees must carry Montana workers' compensation insurance (out-of-state firms must show Montana-compliant coverage) and unemployment insurance coverage; sole proprietors/partners/members without personal coverage need an Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate ($125, 2 years). No general liability minimum.
Notes

No state general contractor competency license; this is a registration-style license with no exam. Required for contractors with employees and for all corporations and manager-managed LLCs, regardless of employee count. There is no exam. Out-of-state 'bid only' status exists until work starts.

HVAC1 license type

HVAC / mechanical contractor

No license required · Montana Construction Contractor License Program (Dept. of Labor & Industry)

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Montana has no state HVAC or mechanical contractor license: MCA Title 37, Chapter 70 (Board of Warm Air Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning) is repealed. HVAC firms are subject to the DLI Construction Contractor License (see general_contractor), the electrical license for any electrical wiring, EPA 608 for refrigerants, and local permit and code rules. Local jurisdictions with certified building programs may have their own requirements.

Pest control1 license type

Commercial Pesticide Applicator (category: Industrial, Institutional, Structural & Health Related Pest Control)

Commercial / Structural category · State license · Montana Department of Agriculture - Pesticide Licensing

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
12 hours
Show CE rulesEach category must earn 12 continuing education credits within its 4-year recertification period, with at least 6 of those credits from in-person training (Structural category period: January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2027). Categories without the required credits are dropped at renewal, and a licensee must stay qualified in at least one category. MDA approves the trainings; credits are tracked in MTPlants.
Deadline rule
License expires each December 31 and must be renewed annually before applying pesticides; renewals postmarked after March 1 incur the late fee. Category recertification (12 credits) cycle for the Structural category: Jan 1, 2024 - Dec 31, 2027.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Renewals accepted through March 1 without late fee (license expires Dec 31 and cannot be used to apply pesticides after that).

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $85
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)About $25 added to renewals postmarked after March 1 (does not apply to new licenses). Operators listed under the license: about $25 each for first 2 operators per year, about $10 each additional.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Liability insurance required for commercial applicators (financial responsibility may only be met via liability insurance): minimum $30,000 for ground/non-aerial applicators ($50,000 aerial); MDA financial responsibility form; proof on request (ARM 4.10.101-.104).
Notes

Structural pest control is licensed as a category on the commercial applicator license; no separate structural pest board. Initial licensing: pass core exam plus category exam(s) with 80%+. Online renewal via MTPlants (requires ePass account); card/eCheck service fees apply. Contact: Pesticide Licensing (406) 444-4900, [email protected]; department (406) 444-3144.

Plumbing2 license types

Journeyman Plumber

JOURNEYMAN · State license · Montana Board of Plumbers (Dept. of Labor & Industry, Business Standards Division)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
4 hours
Show CE rules4 hours of Board-approved, code-related CE each license year (ARM 24.180.2102); course must have prior Board/Department approval (IAPMO-taught courses acceptable; reciprocal-state-approved courses accepted); new licensees exempt for first renewal; licensee affirms CE compliance at renewal and keeps certificates for random audit.
Deadline rule
Annually on September 1 (FY26 renewals opened July 2, 2026 and were due Sept 1, 2026; next due Sept 1, 2027).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None on the renewal date; 45-day lapsed window and 2-year expired window apply.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $160
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late penalty fee = 100% of the renewal fee, in addition to the renewal fee, for each renewal period missed (ARM 24.101.403(2)); applies even when the renewal fee has been abated (100% of the un-abated fee). Online renewals must be submitted before 11:59 pm Mountain time on the renewal date (ARM 24.101.413).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)ARM 24.101.408: license not renewed by the renewal date is lapsed - may be reactivated within 45 days by renewing and paying fees (practicing while lapsed is not unlicensed practice); after 45 days it expires - may still be reactivated within 2 years of the renewal date (practicing while expired is unlicensed practice); after 2 years it terminates and a new original license (incl. exam if applicable) is required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

The FY26 renewal fee was 100% abated, with fees still charged for late renewals; check the amount shown when the next renewal opens in early July.

Master Plumber

MASTER · State license · Montana Board of Plumbers (Dept. of Labor & Industry, Business Standards Division)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
4 hours
Show CE rules4 hours of Board-approved, code-related CE each license year (ARM 24.180.2102); course must have prior Board/Department approval (IAPMO-taught courses acceptable; reciprocal-state-approved courses accepted); new licensees exempt for first renewal; licensee affirms CE compliance at renewal and keeps certificates for random audit.
Deadline rule
Annually on September 1 (FY26 renewals opened July 2, 2026 and were due Sept 1, 2026; next due Sept 1, 2027).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None on the renewal date; 45-day lapsed window and 2-year expired window apply.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $265
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late penalty fee = 100% of the renewal fee, in addition to the renewal fee, for each renewal period missed (ARM 24.101.403(2)); applies even when the renewal fee has been abated (100% of the un-abated fee). Online renewals must be submitted before 11:59 pm Mountain time on the renewal date (ARM 24.101.413).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)ARM 24.101.408: license not renewed by the renewal date is lapsed - may be reactivated within 45 days by renewing and paying fees (practicing while lapsed is not unlicensed practice); after 45 days it expires - may still be reactivated within 2 years of the renewal date (practicing while expired is unlicensed practice); after 2 years it terminates and a new original license (incl. exam if applicable) is required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

The FY26 renewal fee (due September 1, 2026) was 100% abated, with fees still charged for late renewals; check the amount shown when the September 1, 2027 renewal opens in early July. Master plumber of record fee $50 (a plumbing business must designate a master plumber of record). Experience: 4 years as a licensed journeyman. Medical gas endorsement renews at $30.

Roofing1 license type

Construction Contractor License (covers roofing and siding)

CCL · State license · Montana Construction Contractor License Program (Dept. of Labor & Industry)

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Renews on the anniversary date of issuance; renewal opens 60 days before the expiration date. DLI does not state the license term on its CCL pages, FAQ or rule notice; check the expiration date on the license.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $70
Late fee
Late renewal fee about $70, in addition to the about $70 renewal fee (per DLI CCL page, citing ARM 24.101.103(2)).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)The general DLI rule (ARM 24.101.408) lets a lapsed license be reactivated within 45 days, and an expired license within 2 years of the renewal date, by renewing and paying fees; after that a new application is needed. DLI's CCL pages do not state a separate rule.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Contractors with employees must carry Montana workers' compensation insurance (out-of-state firms must show Montana-compliant coverage) and unemployment insurance coverage; sole proprietors/partners/members without personal coverage need an Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate ($125, 2 years). No general liability minimum.
Notes

No separate state roofing license; the MCA 37-45 definition of construction contractor expressly includes installing or repairing roofing or siding. Required for contractors with employees and for all corporations and manager-managed LLCs, regardless of employee count. There is no exam. Out-of-state 'bid only' status exists until work starts.

Licensing boards

Montana Board of Plumbers (Dept. of Labor & Industry, Business Standards Division)

Montana Construction Contractor License Program (Dept. of Labor & Industry)

Montana Department of Agriculture - Pesticide Licensing

Montana State Electrical Board (Dept. of Labor & Industry, Business Standards Division)

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Get your Montana renewal dates into one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.