Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Alabama General Contractor License Renewal: Deadlines, Fees and CE

Alabama has 4 General contractor license classes. Most renew every year. Renewal fees are about $100 to $250, depending on the class. Fees change, so check the official site for the exact amount. Continuing education is 6 hours. The details for each class are below.

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

Prime General Contractor (commercial; bid-limit license)

Prime · State license · Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Annual; license expires and becomes invalid on the last day of the licensee's assigned renewal month. Renewal packet is due 30 days before expiration (Rule 230-X-1-.01); packets received more than 45 days before expiration may be returned. Renewal month is set by the first letter of the company name: A=Dec, B=Nov, C=Oct, D/E/F=Sep, G/H=Aug, I/J/K/L=Mar, M/N=Apr, O/P/Q/R=May, S=Jun, T-Z=Jul (Board renewal page; Rules 230-X-1-.38 and .39).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
If the renewal form and fee are received at least 30 days before expiration but financial information is not ready, the license is extended 90 days to file it (Rule 230-X-1-.01(3)). A written extension request on company letterhead must be sent before the license expires. Otherwise there is no grace period after the end of the renewal month, but late renewals are accepted up to one year after expiration.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $200
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A $50 late penalty applies if required financial information is not submitted within the 90-day extension period (Rules 230-X-1-.01(3) and .19). The Board form states that renewal information submitted 90 days after expiration is assessed a late penalty. Renewals can be filed up to one year after expiration with the renewal fee and late fee (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4)).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)After more than one year without a current license a new application is required (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4)); the Prime renewal form adds that the trade exam(s) and the business and law exam may also be required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Proof of current liability insurance listing the Board as certificate holder (Alabama License Board for General Contractors, 445 Dexter Ave, Suite 3060, Montgomery AL 36104) is required at renewal; the minimum coverage amount is not stated on the renewal form. A current financial statement (audited, reviewed or compiled under US GAAP by a CPA or approved public accountant, no more than one year old; ALDOT booklet accepted) sets the bid limit. Minimum net worth and working capital is $10,000 or the renewal is rejected; a license bond may be used if financials do not meet the minimum.
Reciprocity
Board-recognized reciprocity states: Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, Tennessee and North Carolina. Requires a license in good standing for one year in a comparable classification with no discipline; the trade exam may be waived with written certification from that state, but the Alabama business law exam is still required. The same qualifying individual must be used. The application must be on file 30 days before issuance (Rule 230-X-1-.40).
Notes

Renewal forms are available online only from the Board website and are not mailed to licensees. Submit the completed, notarized packet by mail with a $200 money order or cashier's check payable to the Board; personal and company checks are returned (Rule 230-X-1-.41). No online renewal option is listed on the Board site. A Prime license can be kept inactive for $200 per year (Rule 230-X-1-.42). A general contractor license is required for commercial or public work costing $100,000 or more including labor and materials ($5,000 or more for swimming pools), per Act 2024-277 effective October 1, 2024. The text of Rule 230-X-1-.07 in the administrative code still shows $50,000, which the Act superseded. Board phone 334-272-5030.

Track this renewal

Add your Alabama General contractor license to ClearLicensed and we will email you 90, 60, 30, 14, 7 and 1 day before it expires.

Start the free trialOr have our team file it for you

Residential Home Builder - Limited

Limited · State license · Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
6 hours
Show CE rulesSix credit hours of Board-approved CE must be completed before the renewal license is issued for all licensees (individual or corporate qualifying representative) under age 60 as of Oct 1 of the renewal year. First renewal is exempt; inactive licenses are exempt until reactivation. The Board recommends finishing CE before Oct 1. Approved courses and providers are listed on the HBLB website.
Deadline rule
Annual; licenses expire December 31. Renewals open Oct 1; timely if received/postmarked by 11:59 PM November 30 (2026 deadline for 2027 license: Nov 30, 2026).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Dec 1-31 is the late period ($50); applications on/after Jan 1 are expired and cannot be handled as renewals.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $250
Late fee
About $50 late fee for renewals postmarked/received Dec 1 - Dec 31.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Within 3 years of expiration: submit expired license application (2027 forms: expired-license processing fee about $350 in addition to about $250 annual fee = about $600 for active Unlimited/Limited). After 3 years: file closed; new application, home builders exam and credit report required (HBLB FAQ). A business-related credit report (Holloway, about $35) is required with each renewal.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Not published, check with the board
Notes

A home builder license is required for residential work over $10,000 including labor and materials. Inactive license fee is $125 per year; no CE or credit report is needed while inactive, but CE is required to reactivate. Phone 334-242-2230. Online and paper renewals open Oct 1; credit and debit cards are accepted only online. Payment by check, cashier's check, certified check or money order is accepted; no cash. Initial Limited licensing requires a local contractor license.

Residential Home Builder - Unlimited

Unlimited · State license · Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
6 hours
Show CE rulesSix credit hours of Board-approved CE must be completed before the renewal license is issued for all licensees (individual or corporate qualifying representative) under age 60 as of Oct 1 of the renewal year. First renewal is exempt; inactive licenses are exempt until reactivation. The Board recommends finishing CE before Oct 1. Approved courses and providers are listed on the HBLB website.
Deadline rule
Annual; licenses expire December 31. Renewals open Oct 1; timely if received/postmarked by 11:59 PM November 30 (2026 deadline for 2027 license: Nov 30, 2026).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Dec 1-31 is the late period ($50); applications on/after Jan 1 are expired and cannot be handled as renewals.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $250
Late fee
About $50 late fee for renewals postmarked/received Dec 1 - Dec 31.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Within 3 years of expiration: submit expired license application (2027 forms: expired-license processing fee about $350 in addition to about $250 annual fee = about $600 for active Unlimited/Limited). After 3 years: file closed; new application, home builders exam and credit report required (HBLB FAQ). A business-related credit report (Holloway, about $35) is required with each renewal.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Not published, check with the board
Notes

A home builder license is required for residential work over $10,000 including labor and materials. Inactive license fee is $125 per year; no CE or credit report is needed while inactive, but CE is required to reactivate. Phone 334-242-2230. Online and paper renewals open Oct 1; credit and debit cards are accepted only online. Payment by check, cashier's check, certified check or money order is accepted; no cash. Initial Unlimited licensing requires passing the Alabama Business & Law and Skills exams.

Subcontractor License (General Contractors Board)

Sub · State license · Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Annual; license expires and becomes invalid on the last day of the licensee's assigned renewal month. Renewal packet is due 30 days before expiration (Rule 230-X-1-.01); packets received more than 45 days before expiration may be returned. Renewal month is set by the first letter of the company name: A=Dec, B=Nov, C=Oct, D/E/F=Sep, G/H=Aug, I/J/K/L=Mar, M/N=Apr, O/P/Q/R=May, S=Jun, T-Z=Jul (Board renewal page; Rules 230-X-1-.38 and .39).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Renewal packets are due 30 days before expiration. There is no grace period after the end of the renewal month, but late renewals are accepted up to one year after expiration with a late penalty.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $100
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)The Subcontractor form states renewal information submitted 90 days after expiration is assessed a late penalty; the amount is not stated on the form. Renewals can be filed up to one year after expiration with the renewal fee and late fee (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4)).
Reinstatement
After more than one year without a current license a new application is required (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4); Subcontractor renewal form).

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Board-recognized reciprocity states: Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, Tennessee and North Carolina. Requires a license in good standing for one year in a comparable classification with no discipline; the trade exam may be waived with written certification from that state, but the Alabama business law exam is still required. The same qualifying individual must be used. The application must be on file 30 days before issuance (Rule 230-X-1-.40).
Notes

Renewal forms are available online only from the Board website and are not mailed to licensees. Submit the completed, notarized packet by mail with a $100 money order or cashier's check payable to the Board; personal and company checks are returned (Rule 230-X-1-.41). The fee is non-refundable. No online renewal option is listed on the Board site. A general contractor license is required for commercial or public work costing $100,000 or more including labor and materials ($5,000 or more for swimming pools), per Act 2024-277 effective October 1, 2024. The text of Rule 230-X-1-.07 in the administrative code still shows $50,000, which the Act superseded. Board phone 334-272-5030.

The hours, required topics, approved providers and reporting rules for each license are on the Alabama General contractor continuing education page.

How to renew

  1. 1Check your Prime General Contractor (commercial; bid-limit license) deadline: Annual; license expires and becomes invalid on the last day of the licensee's assigned renewal month. Renewal packet is due 30 days before expiration (Rule 230-X-1-.01); packets received more than 45 days before expiration may be returned. Renewal month is set by the first letter of the company name: A=Dec, B=Nov, C=Oct, D/E/F=Sep, G/H=Aug, I/J/K/L=Mar, M/N=Apr, O/P/Q/R=May, S=Jun, T-Z=Jul (Board renewal page; Rules 230-X-1-.38 and .39).
  2. 2Confirm your insurance meet the board requirements and are not expiring.
  3. 3Renewal information: https://genconbd.alabama.gov/licensees/renewal-information/
  4. 4Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $200, but fees change.
  5. 5If you miss the deadline: A $50 late penalty applies if required financial information is not submitted within the 90-day extension period (Rules 230-X-1-.01(3) and .19). The Board form states that renewal information submitted 90 days after expiration is assessed a late penalty. Renewals can be filed up to one year after expiration with the renewal fee and late fee (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4)).
  6. 6Check your Residential Home Builder - Limited deadline: Annual; licenses expire December 31. Renewals open Oct 1; timely if received/postmarked by 11:59 PM November 30 (2026 deadline for 2027 license: Nov 30, 2026).
  7. 7Complete 6 continuing education hours before renewing. Six credit hours of Board-approved CE must be completed before the renewal license is issued for all licensees (individual or corporate qualifying representative) under age 60 as of Oct 1 of the renewal year. First renewal is exempt; inactive licenses are exempt until reactivation. The Board recommends finishing CE before Oct 1. Approved courses and providers are listed on the HBLB website.
  8. 8Renew online at https://alhobv7prod.glsuite.us/ui/licenseelogin/Login
  9. 9Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $250, but fees change.
  10. 10If you miss the deadline: About $50 late fee for renewals postmarked/received Dec 1 - Dec 31.
  11. 11Check your Residential Home Builder - Unlimited deadline: Annual; licenses expire December 31. Renewals open Oct 1; timely if received/postmarked by 11:59 PM November 30 (2026 deadline for 2027 license: Nov 30, 2026).
  12. 12Check your Subcontractor License (General Contractors Board) deadline: Annual; license expires and becomes invalid on the last day of the licensee's assigned renewal month. Renewal packet is due 30 days before expiration (Rule 230-X-1-.01); packets received more than 45 days before expiration may be returned. Renewal month is set by the first letter of the company name: A=Dec, B=Nov, C=Oct, D/E/F=Sep, G/H=Aug, I/J/K/L=Mar, M/N=Apr, O/P/Q/R=May, S=Jun, T-Z=Jul (Board renewal page; Rules 230-X-1-.38 and .39).
  13. 13Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $100, but fees change.
  14. 14If you miss the deadline: The Subcontractor form states renewal information submitted 90 days after expiration is assessed a late penalty; the amount is not stated on the form. Renewals can be filed up to one year after expiration with the renewal fee and late fee (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4)).

Alabama General contractor renewal questions

Answers come from the records above. Informational: verify with the issuing board.

When does an Alabama general contractor license expire?

Prime General Contractor (commercial; bid-limit license): renews every year. Annual; license expires and becomes invalid on the last day of the licensee's assigned renewal month. Renewal packet is due 30 days before expiration (Rule 230-X-1-.01); packets received more than 45 days before expiration may be returned. Renewal month is set by the first letter of the company name: A=Dec, B=Nov, C=Oct, D/E/F=Sep, G/H=Aug, I/J/K/L=Mar, M/N=Apr, O/P/Q/R=May, S=Jun, T-Z=Jul (Board renewal page; Rules 230-X-1-.38 and .39). Residential Home Builder - Limited: renews every year. Annual; licenses expire December 31. Renewals open Oct 1; timely if received/postmarked by 11:59 PM November 30 (2026 deadline for 2027 license: Nov 30, 2026). Residential Home Builder - Unlimited: renews every year. Annual; licenses expire December 31. Renewals open Oct 1; timely if received/postmarked by 11:59 PM November 30 (2026 deadline for 2027 license: Nov 30, 2026). Check with Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors before you rely on it.

How many CE hours does an Alabama general contractor license need?

Prime General Contractor (commercial; bid-limit license): no CE required. Residential Home Builder - Limited: 6 hours per renewal. Residential Home Builder - Unlimited: 6 hours per renewal. Check with Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors before you rely on it.

Is there a grace period for an Alabama general contractor license?

If the renewal form and fee are received at least 30 days before expiration but financial information is not ready, the license is extended 90 days to file it (Rule 230-X-1-.01(3)). A written extension request on company letterhead must be sent before the license expires. Otherwise there is no grace period after the end of the renewal month, but late renewals are accepted up to one year after expiration. Check with Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors before you rely on it.

How much does it cost to renew an Alabama general contractor license?

Prime General Contractor (commercial; bid-limit license): About $200. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

What happens if an Alabama general contractor license expires?

A $50 late penalty applies if required financial information is not submitted within the 90-day extension period (Rules 230-X-1-.01(3) and .19). The Board form states that renewal information submitted 90 days after expiration is assessed a late penalty. Renewals can be filed up to one year after expiration with the renewal fee and late fee (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4)). Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Does Alabama accept general contractor licenses from other states?

Board-recognized reciprocity states: Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, Tennessee and North Carolina. Requires a license in good standing for one year in a comparable classification with no discipline; the trade exam may be waived with written certification from that state, but the Alabama business law exam is still required. The same qualifying individual must be used. The application must be on file 30 days before issuance (Rule 230-X-1-.40). Check with Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors before you rely on it.

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Keep your Alabama General contractor license current.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.