ClearLicensed renewal checklist
Alabama General contractor license renewal checklist
Verified dataState data last checked Oct 17, 2026clearlicensed.com/states/AL/checklist/general-contractor
Informational: verify with the issuing board. Fees are approximate and rules change. One block per license type: tick each line as you go.
General contractor
Prime General Contractor (commercial; bid-limit license) (Prime)
State license · Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors
- Deadline
- Annual; license expires and becomes invalid on the last day of the licensee's assigned renewal month. Renewal packet is due 30 days before expiration (Rule 230-X-1-.01); packets received more than 45 days before expiration may be returned. Renewal month is set by the first letter of the company name: A=Dec, B=Nov, C=Oct, D/E/F=Sep, G/H=Aug, I/J/K/L=Mar, M/N=Apr, O/P/Q/R=May, S=Jun, T-Z=Jul (Board renewal page; Rules 230-X-1-.38 and .39).
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- Not required
- Renewal fee
- About $200. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- A $50 late penalty applies if required financial information is not submitted within the 90-day extension period (Rules 230-X-1-.01(3) and .19). The Board form states that renewal information submitted 90 days after expiration is assessed a late penalty. Renewals can be filed up to one year after expiration with the renewal fee and late fee (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4)).
- Grace period
- If the renewal form and fee are received at least 30 days before expiration but financial information is not ready, the license is extended 90 days to file it (Rule 230-X-1-.01(3)). A written extension request on company letterhead must be sent before the license expires. Otherwise there is no grace period after the end of the renewal month, but late renewals are accepted up to one year after expiration.
- Insurance
- Proof of current liability insurance listing the Board as certificate holder (Alabama License Board for General Contractors, 445 Dexter Ave, Suite 3060, Montgomery AL 36104) is required at renewal; the minimum coverage amount is not stated on the renewal form. A current financial statement (audited, reviewed or compiled under US GAAP by a CPA or approved public accountant, no more than one year old; ALDOT booklet accepted) sets the bid limit. Minimum net worth and working capital is $10,000 or the renewal is rejected; a license bond may be used if financials do not meet the minimum.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $200, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Residential Home Builder - Limited (Limited)
State license · Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board
- Deadline
- Dec 31 every year
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 6 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $250. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $50 late fee for renewals postmarked/received Dec 1 - Dec 31.
- Grace period
- Dec 1-31 is the late period ($50); applications on/after Jan 1 are expired and cannot be handled as renewals.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 6 hours of continuing education
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $250, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Residential Home Builder - Unlimited (Unlimited)
State license · Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board
- Deadline
- Dec 31 every year
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 6 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $250. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $50 late fee for renewals postmarked/received Dec 1 - Dec 31.
- Grace period
- Dec 1-31 is the late period ($50); applications on/after Jan 1 are expired and cannot be handled as renewals.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 6 hours of continuing education
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $250, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Subcontractor License (General Contractors Board) (Sub)
State license · Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors
- Deadline
- Annual; license expires and becomes invalid on the last day of the licensee's assigned renewal month. Renewal packet is due 30 days before expiration (Rule 230-X-1-.01); packets received more than 45 days before expiration may be returned. Renewal month is set by the first letter of the company name: A=Dec, B=Nov, C=Oct, D/E/F=Sep, G/H=Aug, I/J/K/L=Mar, M/N=Apr, O/P/Q/R=May, S=Jun, T-Z=Jul (Board renewal page; Rules 230-X-1-.38 and .39).
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- Not required
- Renewal fee
- About $100. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- The Subcontractor form states renewal information submitted 90 days after expiration is assessed a late penalty; the amount is not stated on the form. Renewals can be filed up to one year after expiration with the renewal fee and late fee (Rule 230-X-1-.01(4)).
- Grace period
- Renewal packets are due 30 days before expiration. There is no grace period after the end of the renewal month, but late renewals are accepted up to one year after expiration with a late penalty.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $100, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup