Commercial Pesticide Applicator License (Category G + Category 8 Industrial, Institutional, Structural & Health Related; Category 15 Wood Preservative)
Commercial Applicator · State license · SD Dept. of Agriculture and Natural Resources - Pesticide Applicators and Dealers
- Renewal cycle
- Every 2 years
- Continuing education
- Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rules
Recertify each category every two years by attending an approved in-person recertification class, completing the SDSU Extension online recertification course, attending an approved out-of-state event, or retesting. Hours are not specified. Licensing requires the General (core) category plus the relevant categories. - Deadline rule
- Certification and license are valid two years; recertify categories and renew the license by the last day of February in the year of expiration. The renewal season opens in early December (the 2026 season ran December 3, 2025 to February 28, 2026).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insuranceHide fees, grace period, bond and insurance
- Grace period
- Not published, check with the board
Fees, approximate
- Renewal fee
- About $35
- Late fee
- No late fee in current law (the former applicator late penalty, SDCL 38-21-43, is repealed).
- Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)
A license that expires without renewal requires taking the examination to obtain a new license (SDCL 38-21-42). If categories expire unrenewed, the applicator must retake the SD certification exams and the license is not valid until then.
Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
Why approximate?
Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.
- Bond
- Not required
- Insurance
- Not required
- Reciprocity
- Out-of-state applicators can file a Reciprocity Request with DANR to add South Dakota certification categories.
Notes
Commercial applicator license fee is $35 (SDCL 38-21-17); the dealer license is $75. Categories (DANR 09/01/2024 list): 8 = Industrial, Institutional, Structural and Health Related (includes rodent and bird control in structures); 14 = Non-soil fumigation; 15 = Wood preservative. Insurance or financial responsibility rules are not stated on DANR pages; ask DANR. DANR phone 605-773-5559.
Sources (7)
- https://danr.sd.gov/Agriculture/Inspection/Pesticide/ApplicatorsDealers/default.aspx
- https://apps.sd.gov/doa/ecat3/index.htm
- https://danr.sd.gov/Agriculture/Inspection/Pesticide/ApplicatorsDealers/docs/Explanation%20of%20Commercial%20Pesticide%20CERTIFICATION%20Category%20Classifications%20UPDATED%2009_01_2024.pdf
- https://extension.sdstate.edu/commercial-applicator-training-pesticides
- https://sdlegislature.gov/api/Statutes/38-21-17.html
- https://sdlegislature.gov/api/Statutes/38-21-42.html
- https://sdlegislature.gov/api/Statutes/38-21-43.html