Skip to content
ClearLicensed

South Dakota contractor license renewal rules

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

License types
8
Licensing boards
4
Trades
6

Electrical2 license types

Class B Electrician

Class B · State license · South Dakota Electrical Commission (Dept. of Labor & Regulation)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
16 hours
Show CE rulesSame as the electrical contractor: 16 hours per two-year renewal, at least 8 on the National Electrical Code, no more than 8 pre-approved online or correspondence hours, approved courses only.
Deadline rule
Two-year license that expires at midnight June 30 of each even-numbered year (SDCL 36-16-25). Next expiration June 30, 2028.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
SDCL 36-16-25 allows renewal within 30 days after the June 30 expiration, but the Commission treats renewals after June 30 as late.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $100
Late fee
Renewals submitted by June 30 have no late fee; the late fee amount is not published in the rule or on Commission pages.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Reinstatement within one year of expiration with a $50 reinstatement fee plus the license fee (ARSD 20:44:16:18). After one year a new application and examination are required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Required: $10,000. Verify the amount with the board.
Insurance
Same undertaking ($10,000) and liability ($100,000/$300,000) as Electrical Contractor (SDCL 36-16-20 covers contractor or Class B electrician).
Notes

Biennial fee $100 (ARSD 20:44:16:15). Journeyman is $80 biennial and inactive licenses are $80. Same undertaking deposit and renewal form as the electrical contractor.

Electrical Contractor License

Electrical Contractor · State license · South Dakota Electrical Commission (Dept. of Labor & Regulation)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
16 hours
Show CE rules16 hours per two-year renewal period (July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2026 for the 2026 renewal). At least half (8 hours) must be on the National Electrical Code; no more than 8 hours may be commission pre-approved correspondence or interactive online courses. One credit hour per 50 minutes. Courses may be taken in any state. Completion certificates go in with the renewal. A license first issued in the second year of a biennium does not need CE until its second renewal. Courses must be pre-approved or approved by the Commission.
Deadline rule
Two-year license that expires at midnight June 30 of each even-numbered year (SDCL 36-16-25). Renewals submitted by June 30 have no late fee. Next expiration June 30, 2028.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
SDCL 36-16-25 allows renewal within 30 days after the June 30 expiration, but the Commission treats renewals after June 30 as late.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $200
Late fee
Renewals submitted by June 30 have no late fee; the late fee amount is not published in the rule or on Commission pages.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)If not renewed, a license can be reinstated within one year of expiration by applying and paying a $50 reinstatement fee plus the license fee (ARSD 20:44:16:18). After one year a new application and examination are required.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Required: $10,000. Verify the amount with the board.
Insurance
Undertaking of $10,000 deposited with the Commission (in lieu of surety bond; $50 deposit at execution and biennially at renewal, waived if fund exceeds $50,000) plus public liability policy not less than $100,000 per occurrence / $300,000 aggregate (bodily injury and property damage) (SDCL 36-16-20; Commission page).
Notes

Biennial fee $200 (ARSD 20:44:16:15). Renewals use the Commission's Adobe Sign renewal form, submitted online (credit card payment online) or printed and mailed with a check or money order to 217 W. Missouri Ave., Pierre SD 57501. The undertaking deposit of $50 is due at execution and with each biennial renewal unless the fund exceeds $50,000. Electrical contractors and Class B electricians do not need an additional undertaking for a municipal license.

General contractor1 license type

General contractor - no state license; Contractor's Excise Tax License required (Dept. of Revenue)

Local / county license · SD Department of Revenue - Contractor's Tax License

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
The Department of Revenue page does not publish a renewal term for the contractor's excise tax license. Excise tax returns are due the 20th of each month; electronic payments are due the 25th.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

No state general contractor competency license. Anyone contracting for construction services must hold a South Dakota contractor's excise tax license from the Department of Revenue. Excise tax is 2% of gross receipts (SDCL 10-46A-1); returns are due the 20th of each month and electronic payments by the 25th. Local examples: Sioux Falls requires a Residential Building Contractor license for permitted work on one- and two-family homes and townhomes (Construction Supervisor exam, $20,000 compliance bond, $300,000 general liability, renewal every 3 years, at least 1 hour of continuing education per cycle) but no license for commercial general contractors; Rapid City Class A General and Class B Residential contractor licenses are $200 initial and $100 renewal for 3 years with 6 hours of continuing education at renewal.

HVAC1 license type

HVAC - no state license (local only, e.g. Sioux Falls mechanical/refrigeration, Rapid City mechanical)

Local / county license · SD Department of Revenue - Contractor's Tax License

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

South Dakota has no state HVAC license; cities license mechanical contractors, so check local rules. Sioux Falls: Mechanical Contractor and Refrigeration Contractor licenses need the city exam (Master Mechanic exam for mechanical, 4 years of experience), a $10,000 compliance bond written to the City, and renewal every two years; the fee is $200 per two-year license expiring December 31 of odd-numbered years ($100 if bought in the second year). Rapid City: Mechanical Contractor (Class MC) $205 initial and $80 renewal for a 3-year license, with 6 hours of continuing education and a certificate of insurance naming the City at renewal. Federal EPA Section 608 certification applies to refrigerant handling. Any contractor doing construction services must hold the SD Department of Revenue contractor's excise tax license (see general_contractor).

Pest control1 license type

Commercial Pesticide Applicator License (Category G + Category 8 Industrial, Institutional, Structural & Health Related; Category 15 Wood Preservative)

Commercial Applicator · State license · SD Dept. of Agriculture and Natural Resources - Pesticide Applicators and Dealers

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesRecertify each category every two years by attending an approved in-person recertification class, completing the SDSU Extension online recertification course, attending an approved out-of-state event, or retesting. Hours are not specified. Licensing requires the General (core) category plus the relevant categories.
Deadline rule
Certification and license are valid two years; recertify categories and renew the license by the last day of February in the year of expiration. The renewal season opens in early December (the 2026 season ran December 3, 2025 to February 28, 2026).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $35
Late fee
No late fee in current law (the former applicator late penalty, SDCL 38-21-43, is repealed).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A license that expires without renewal requires taking the examination to obtain a new license (SDCL 38-21-42). If categories expire unrenewed, the applicator must retake the SD certification exams and the license is not valid until then.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Commercial applicator license fee is $35 (SDCL 38-21-17); the dealer license is $75. Categories (DANR 09/01/2024 list): 8 = Industrial, Institutional, Structural and Health Related (includes rodent and bird control in structures); 14 = Non-soil fumigation; 15 = Wood preservative. Insurance or financial responsibility rules are not stated on DANR pages; ask DANR. DANR phone 605-773-5559.

Plumbing2 license types

Plumber (journeyman)

Plumber · State license · South Dakota Plumbing Commission (Dept. of Labor & Regulation)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
4 hours
Show CE rulesSame as contractor: 4 hours (2 on code) completed in the previous calendar year; applies to plumber, restricted plumber and third-year apprentice licensed by exam.
Deadline rule
Licenses expire every December 31 (ARSD 20:53:02:20). Renewal with fee must be received by the following January 31.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Renewal accepted through January 31 after expiration; later applications are reinstatements. Working 60 days or more after expiration is subject to discipline.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $105
Late fee
No separate late fee in ARSD 20:53:12:03. A renewal received after January 31 is handled as a reinstatement.
Reinstatement
Reinstatement application and fee (amount not published) after January 31; exam waived if received within one year of expiration.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Individual-level license; included because the qualifier must hold it. Annual renewal fee $105 for a plumber or installer license per ARSD 20:53:12:03 (effective July 2, 2025).

Plumbing Contractor

Plumbing Contractor · State license · South Dakota Plumbing Commission (Dept. of Labor & Regulation)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
4 hours
Show CE rulesMinimum 4 hours relating to the plumbing trade, 2 of them on code, completed in the previous calendar year as a condition of renewal (SDCL 36-25-32, ARSD 20:53:11). Applies to plumbing contractors, restricted plumbing contractors, plumbers, restricted plumbers and third-year apprentices licensed by exam. Commission-approved providers (for example IAPMO, SDPHCC); the Commission may grant extensions for health, military service or other reasonable cause.
Deadline rule
Licenses expire every December 31 (ARSD 20:53:02:20). A renewal application with fee must be received by the following January 31. CE for the previous calendar year must be on file before renewal is processed.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Renewal accepted through January 31 after the December 31 expiration. Anyone continuing to work 60 days or more after expiration is subject to disciplinary proceedings (ARSD 20:53:12:03).

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $275
Late fee
No separate late fee in ARSD 20:53:12:03. A renewal received after January 31 is handled as a reinstatement.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)After January 31, submit the Plumbing License Reinstatement Application with fee (amount not published). If received within one year of expiration the exam is waived; after that initial license requirements apply (ARSD 20:53:02:20).

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Annual renewal fee $275 per ARSD 20:53:12:03 (effective July 2, 2025; statutory cap $300). Initial license fee is the same $275 under that rule. Annual Specialty License Renewal Form is e-signed online with credit card payment, or mail a check to 217 W. Missouri Ave., Pierre SD 57501.

Roofing1 license type

Roofing - no state license (local only, e.g. Sioux Falls roofing/residential contractor, Rapid City roofing)

Local / county license · SD Department of Revenue - Contractor's Tax License

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

South Dakota has no state roofing license; some cities license roofers, so check local rules. Sioux Falls: Residential Roofing and Repair Contractor license (shingling, siding, window and door replacement without structural changes on one- and two-family homes and townhomes) needs a city exam, a $20,000 compliance bond written to the City, at least $300,000 general liability with the City as certificate holder, renewal every 3 years and at least 1 hour of continuing education per cycle; a license expired more than 12 months needs re-examination. Rapid City: Roofing Contractor (Class R) $200 initial and $100 renewal for a 3-year license, with 6 hours of continuing education at renewal. The SD Department of Revenue contractor's excise tax license is required statewide.

Licensing boards

SD Department of Revenue - Contractor's Tax License

SD Dept. of Agriculture and Natural Resources - Pesticide Applicators and Dealers

South Dakota Electrical Commission (Dept. of Labor & Regulation)

South Dakota Plumbing Commission (Dept. of Labor & Regulation)

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Get your South Dakota renewal dates into one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.