Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Wyoming Electrical License Renewal: Deadlines, Fees and CE

Wyoming has 4 Electrical license classes. Most renew every year. Renewal fees are about $50 to $400, depending on the class. Fees change, so check the official site for the exact amount. Continuing education is 16 hours. The details for each class are below.

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

Electrical Contractor

EC · State license · Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Expires July 1 following the date of issue (annual).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $400
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Not stated for contractor licenses. The about $50 late fee and 45-day grace period in DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)-(g) are written for electricians and technicians.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Reciprocity applies to individual master/journeyman licenses, not contractor businesses.
Notes

Fee is the same for new and renewal ($400). The master of record must be a Wyoming-licensed master electrician. Payment by Visa or MasterCard only; a 2.5% card processing fee (minimum $1.00) applies since April 1, 2025. Licenses are emailed, not mailed.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Track this renewal

Add your Wyoming Electrical license to ClearLicensed and we will email you 90, 60, 30, 14, 7 and 1 day before it expires.

Start the free trialOr have our team file it for you

Journeyman Electrician

JOURNEYMAN · State license · Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
16 hours
Show CE rules16 hours within the 3-year license period, at least 8 on a National Electrical Code course; courses need prior Electrical Board approval.
Deadline rule
Valid 3 years; renews January 1 every third year. Renewal window opens October 1 of the year before expiration and closes January 1.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
45 days after expiration with $50 late fee.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $50
Late fee
About $50 late fee during the 45-day grace period (DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)).
Reinstatement
After 45 days the Wyoming journeyman exam must be passed again; the license is reissued under the expired number for about $100 plus testing fees.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Journeyman reciprocity with Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas and Utah; original license by exam (70% or higher) held at least 1 year; Oregon and Utah need a verification letter emailed to [email protected]; one-time reciprocity only.
Notes

Initial license fee $100. Payment by Visa or MasterCard only; a 2.5% card processing fee (minimum $1.00) applies since April 1, 2025. Licenses are emailed, not mailed.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Low Voltage / Limited Electrical Contractor

LVC · State license · Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Expires July 1 following the date of issue (annual).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $200
Late fee
Not stated for contractor licenses.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Not published, check with the board
Notes

Fee is the same for new and renewal ($200). The Low Voltage/Limited Technician (individual) license is valid 3 years, renews July 1 for $50 (initial $100) with a $50 late fee and 45-day grace. Payment by Visa or MasterCard only; a 2.5% card processing fee (minimum $1.00) applies since April 1, 2025. Licenses are emailed, not mailed.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Master Electrician

MASTER · State license · Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
16 hours
Show CE rules16 hours within the 3-year license period, at least 8 on a code update (2020 or 2023 NEC) course; courses need prior Electrical Board approval; the licensee uploads certificates with the renewal application.
Deadline rule
Valid 3 years; renews July 1 every third year. On time if received by June 30. Renewal window opens April 1 of the year before expiration.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
45 days after expiration with $50 late fee; renewals close August 15.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $100
Late fee
About $50 late fee during the 45-day grace period (DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)After 45 days the license cannot be renewed and the Wyoming master electrician exam must be passed again (DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(g)); a reinstatement fee for masters is not stated.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Master reciprocity from Idaho, Iowa, South Dakota; original license by exam (75%+) held at least 1 year; one-time reciprocity only; reciprocity exempts only the exam, not other requirements; 16 hrs CE (8 code) within 3 years of last renewal.
Notes

Initial license fee $200. Payment by Visa or MasterCard only; a 2.5% card processing fee (minimum $1.00) applies since April 1, 2025. Licenses are emailed, not mailed.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

The hours, required topics, approved providers and reporting rules for each license are on the Wyoming Electrical continuing education page.

How to renew

  1. 1Check your Electrical Contractor deadline: Expires July 1 following the date of issue (annual).
  2. 2Renew online at https://wyelectrician.imagetrendlicense.com/lms/public/
  3. 3Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $400, but fees change.
  4. 4If you miss the deadline: Not stated for contractor licenses. The about $50 late fee and 45-day grace period in DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)-(g) are written for electricians and technicians.
  5. 5Check your Journeyman Electrician deadline: Valid 3 years; renews January 1 every third year. Renewal window opens October 1 of the year before expiration and closes January 1.
  6. 6Complete 16 continuing education hours before renewing. 16 hours within the 3-year license period, at least 8 on a National Electrical Code course; courses need prior Electrical Board approval.
  7. 7Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $50, but fees change.
  8. 8If you miss the deadline: About $50 late fee during the 45-day grace period (DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)).
  9. 9Check your Low Voltage / Limited Electrical Contractor deadline: Expires July 1 following the date of issue (annual).
  10. 10Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $200, but fees change.
  11. 11If you miss the deadline: Not stated for contractor licenses.
  12. 12Check your Master Electrician deadline: Valid 3 years; renews July 1 every third year. On time if received by June 30. Renewal window opens April 1 of the year before expiration.
  13. 13Complete 16 continuing education hours before renewing. 16 hours within the 3-year license period, at least 8 on a code update (2020 or 2023 NEC) course; courses need prior Electrical Board approval; the licensee uploads certificates with the renewal application.
  14. 14Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $100, but fees change.

Wyoming Electrical renewal questions

Answers come from the records above. Informational: verify with the issuing board.

When does a Wyoming electrical license expire?

Electrical Contractor: renews every year. Expires July 1 following the date of issue (annual). Journeyman Electrician: renews every 3 years. Valid 3 years; renews January 1 every third year. Renewal window opens October 1 of the year before expiration and closes January 1. Low Voltage / Limited Electrical Contractor: renews every year. Expires July 1 following the date of issue (annual). Check with Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board before you rely on it.

How many CE hours does a Wyoming electrical license need?

Electrical Contractor: no CE required. Journeyman Electrician: 16 hours per renewal. Low Voltage / Limited Electrical Contractor: no CE required. Check with Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board before you rely on it.

How much does it cost to renew a Wyoming electrical license?

Electrical Contractor: About $400. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

What happens if a Wyoming electrical license expires?

Not stated for contractor licenses. The about $50 late fee and 45-day grace period in DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)-(g) are written for electricians and technicians. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Does Wyoming accept electrical licenses from other states?

Reciprocity applies to individual master/journeyman licenses, not contractor businesses. Check with Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board before you rely on it.

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Keep your Wyoming Electrical license current.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.