Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Wyoming contractor license renewal rules

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

License types
9
Licensing boards
2
Trades
6

Electrical4 license types

Electrical Contractor

EC · State license · Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Expires July 1 following the date of issue (annual).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $400
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Not stated for contractor licenses. The about $50 late fee and 45-day grace period in DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)-(g) are written for electricians and technicians.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Fee is the same for new and renewal ($400). The master of record must be a Wyoming-licensed master electrician. Payment by Visa or MasterCard only; a 2.5% card processing fee (minimum $1.00) applies since April 1, 2025. Licenses are emailed, not mailed.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Journeyman Electrician

JOURNEYMAN · State license · Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
16 hours
Show CE rules16 hours within the 3-year license period, at least 8 on a National Electrical Code course; courses need prior Electrical Board approval.
Deadline rule
Valid 3 years; renews January 1 every third year. Renewal window opens October 1 of the year before expiration and closes January 1.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
45 days after expiration with $50 late fee.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $50
Late fee
About $50 late fee during the 45-day grace period (DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)).
Reinstatement
After 45 days the Wyoming journeyman exam must be passed again; the license is reissued under the expired number for about $100 plus testing fees.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Initial license fee $100. Payment by Visa or MasterCard only; a 2.5% card processing fee (minimum $1.00) applies since April 1, 2025. Licenses are emailed, not mailed.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Low Voltage / Limited Electrical Contractor

LVC · State license · Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Expires July 1 following the date of issue (annual).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $200
Late fee
Not stated for contractor licenses.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Fee is the same for new and renewal ($200). The Low Voltage/Limited Technician (individual) license is valid 3 years, renews July 1 for $50 (initial $100) with a $50 late fee and 45-day grace. Payment by Visa or MasterCard only; a 2.5% card processing fee (minimum $1.00) applies since April 1, 2025. Licenses are emailed, not mailed.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Master Electrician

MASTER · State license · Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
16 hours
Show CE rules16 hours within the 3-year license period, at least 8 on a code update (2020 or 2023 NEC) course; courses need prior Electrical Board approval; the licensee uploads certificates with the renewal application.
Deadline rule
Valid 3 years; renews July 1 every third year. On time if received by June 30. Renewal window opens April 1 of the year before expiration.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
45 days after expiration with $50 late fee; renewals close August 15.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $100
Late fee
About $50 late fee during the 45-day grace period (DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(f)).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)After 45 days the license cannot be renewed and the Wyoming master electrician exam must be passed again (DFPES Rule Ch. 6 Sec. 3(g)); a reinstatement fee for masters is not stated.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Initial license fee $200. Payment by Visa or MasterCard only; a 2.5% card processing fee (minimum $1.00) applies since April 1, 2025. Licenses are emailed, not mailed.

Confidence: HighConfirmed from official rule textLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

General contractor1 license type

General Contractor (local licensing only)

Local / county license

Remind me before this expires

No official link on file. Check with the board.

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Wyoming does not license this trade at the state level; cities and counties license it and requirements and fees vary by jurisdiction (for example Cheyenne and Casper run contractor licensing boards). Cities such as Cody, Cheyenne and Casper license contractors locally; local requirements commonly include general liability and workers' compensation proof. Fees and renewal terms for local licenses vary by jurisdiction; check the specific city or county. Wyoming local governments must recognize an active contractor license in good standing issued by another Wyoming city, county or town if the contractor shows passing an ICC or equivalent exam (W.S. 16-6-1101); this is local-to-local recognition only. Cheyenne licenses contractors through its Contractor Licensing Board (Compliance Division); Casper through its Building Inspection Division, (307) 235-8254.

HVAC1 license type

HVAC / Mechanical (local licensing only)

Local / county license

Remind me before this expires

No official link on file. Check with the board.

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Wyoming does not license this trade at the state level; cities and counties license it and requirements and fees vary by jurisdiction (for example Cheyenne and Casper run contractor licensing boards). Cheyenne issues HVAC and refrigeration master, contractor, journeyman and apprentice licenses. HVAC workers doing load-side electrical work on heating and air conditioning systems need a Wyoming limited electrical technician license (class LM-H) and the employer needs a limited electrical contractor license. Fees and renewal terms for local licenses vary by jurisdiction; check the specific city or county. Wyoming local governments must recognize an active contractor license in good standing issued by another Wyoming city, county or town if the contractor shows passing an ICC or equivalent exam (W.S. 16-6-1101); this is local-to-local recognition only. Example: in Casper, plumbing and mechanical (HVAC) contractors must employ a full-time licensed master and carry liability insurance of at least $250,000 per person, $500,000 per incident and $250,000 property damage; Casper Building Inspection Division (307) 235-8254. Cheyenne licenses these trades through its Contractor Licensing Board (Compliance Division).

Pest control1 license type

Commercial Pesticide Applicator (incl. Industrial/Institutional/Structural Pest Control, category 907)

CA · State license · Wyoming Department of Agriculture (Technical Services Division)

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
24 hours
Show CE rulesRecertify by earning 24 hours of Department-approved continuing education during the license term, or by retaking the exams for the categories held; the Department may accept an approved annual recertification course such as the University of Wyoming course. The applicator keeps records of completed courses and submits them with the renewal application and $25 fee. Structural categories include 907G general, 907H bird, 907I cooling towers and 907J wood destroying pests.
Deadline rule
The commercial applicator license expires January 31 of the third year after the year of issue (for example, issued October 15, 2013, valid until January 31, 2016). Recertification must be completed before the expiration date (Wyo. Admin. Code 010-28 Sec. 28-3).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period; recertification education must be completed before the expiration date.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $25
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)If recertification requirements are not met before the license expires, the applicator must meet all requirements for initial certification, including the exams.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Fee and term are from WDA form WDA-66A (5/2025) and Wyo. Admin. Code 010-28 Sec. 28-3 (amended January 8, 2025).

Plumbing1 license type

Plumbing (local licensing only)

Local / county license

Remind me before this expires

No official link on file. Check with the board.

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Wyoming does not license this trade at the state level; cities and counties license it and requirements and fees vary by jurisdiction (for example Cheyenne and Casper run contractor licensing boards). The Wyoming statutes in Title 33 contain no plumber licensing act and the State Fire Marshal site lists no plumbing license program. Fees and renewal terms for local licenses vary by jurisdiction; check the specific city or county. Wyoming local governments must recognize an active contractor license in good standing issued by another Wyoming city, county or town if the contractor shows passing an ICC or equivalent exam (W.S. 16-6-1101); this is local-to-local recognition only. Example: in Casper, plumbing and mechanical (HVAC) contractors must employ a full-time licensed master and carry liability insurance of at least $250,000 per person, $500,000 per incident and $250,000 property damage; Casper Building Inspection Division (307) 235-8254. Cheyenne licenses these trades through its Contractor Licensing Board (Compliance Division).

Roofing1 license type

Roofing (no state license)

Local / county license

Remind me before this expires

No official link on file. Check with the board.

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Wyoming does not license this trade at the state level; cities and counties license it and requirements and fees vary by jurisdiction (for example Cheyenne and Casper run contractor licensing boards). Roofing contractors are licensed, if at all, by individual municipalities. Fees and renewal terms for local licenses vary by jurisdiction; check the specific city or county. Wyoming local governments must recognize an active contractor license in good standing issued by another Wyoming city, county or town if the contractor shows passing an ICC or equivalent exam (W.S. 16-6-1101); this is local-to-local recognition only. Cheyenne licenses contractors through its Contractor Licensing Board (Compliance Division); Casper through its Building Inspection Division, (307) 235-8254.

Licensing boards

Wyoming Department of Agriculture (Technical Services Division)

Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (State Fire Marshal) - Electrical Board

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Get your Wyoming renewal dates into one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.