Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Kentucky contractor license renewal rules

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

License types
11
Licensing boards
4
Trades
6

Electrical2 license types

Electrical Contractor

CE · State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
6 hours
Show CE rulesAt least 6 hours of approved CE for each year of the license, from NECA, ABC, IBEW, AGC, IAEI, IEC, DHBC or another department-approved provider (KRS 227A.100(7)). For electrical contractors the topics must be business or job safety, and the business designates an authorized agent to complete the hours. No more than 2 hours of safety topics count per 12 months. Excess hours carry forward up to 12 total. Hours earned for a master electrician, electrician or inspector license cannot be applied to the contractor license (815 KAR 2:010). Ask DHBC how the hours are reported at a two-year renewal.
Deadline rule
Licenses are biennial (for licenses issued or renewed on or after July 15, 2024). Renew on or before the last day of the licensee's birth month in the second year. Business entities without a birth month renew on or before the last day of the month the license was issued, in the second year (KRS 227A.100(1); 815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 8).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
60-day grace period after expiration during which the licensee may continue to practice and renew by paying the renewal fee plus the late fee (KRS 227A.100(2)).

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $400
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)About $50 late renewal fee. If all renewal documents are postmarked on or before the last day of the renewal month, the filing is timely and no late fee applies (815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 9).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A license not renewed within the 60-day grace period terminates. Reinstatement requires the renewal fee plus a reinstatement fee equal to the renewal fee (about $400 + about $400); no exam is required if reinstated within 3 years of termination (KRS 227A.100(4); 815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 9).

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability policy of at least $1,000,000 (KRS 227A.060(1)(c); 227A.100(8)) plus workers' compensation proof (insurance certificate from a provider approved by the Kentucky Department of Insurance, or a notarized statement that coverage is not required and why). DHBC Electrical Licensing must be the certificate holder, and insurers must notify DHBC of cancellation or lowered limits (815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 6). A Kentucky master electrician must hold or be employed by the contractor.
Notes

Biennial fee confirmed by the DHBC notice of May 3, 2024 (HB 444) and 815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 8: contractor $400, master electrician $200, electrician $100, each covering two years. The statute caps the initial application fee at $200 for contractors. No surety bond is required by the statute, rule or DHBC checklist. Electrical licensing phone (502) 573-2002. Renewals can be filed online through the DHBC HBC Online portal (a license must be within 60 days of expiration to appear for renewal) or by mailing Form DHBC L-1.

Master Electrician

ME · State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
6 hours
Show CE rulesAt least 6 hours per year (KRS 227A.100(7); 815 KAR 2:010). Topics: job safety, electrical codes or electrical trade subjects. No more than 2 hours of safety topics count per 12 months. A person holding two licenses in the same DHBC division needs the annual hours for one license, except that an electrical contractor cannot use master electrician hours for the contractor license.
Deadline rule
Biennial; renew on or before the last day of the licensee's birth month in the second year (KRS 227A.100(1); 815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 8).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
60-day grace period after expiration (renewal fee plus late fee).

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $200
Late fee
About $50 late renewal fee; filing is timely if documents are postmarked by the last day of the renewal month.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)After the grace period the license terminates. Reinstatement fee equals the renewal fee (about $200 + about $200); no exam within 3 years of termination.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Qualifier for the electrical contractor license; a contracting business must have or employ a Kentucky master electrician. Fee confirmed by the DHBC HB 444 notice and 815 KAR 35:060. Renewals can be filed online through the DHBC HBC Online portal or by mailing Form DHBC L-1.

General contractor1 license type

General contractor (no state license; local only)

Local / county license

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Set locally. Louisville Metro: Building Type A (multiple permits, $125) and Type B (one permit per year, $50) licenses run January 1 to December 31 and are renewed annually, with 6 CE hours for residential Type A or B and a sub-contractor list required at renewal. Lexington-Fayette: contractors register with Building Inspection (limits and renewal fees not published on the city registration page).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Kentucky has no statewide general contractor license. State-licensed trades (HVAC, electrical, plumbing) are valid statewide, and Kentucky HVAC insurance proof exempts the licensee from separate local insurance. Louisville renewals can be filed online through the city Accela portal or by mail with a $125 check to Metro Finance. Local fees for other jurisdictions are not captured here.

HVAC2 license types

Journeyman HVAC Mechanic

Journeyman HVAC · State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
6 hours
Show CE rules6 hours of DHBC-approved CE in the 12 months before renewal (815 KAR 2:010); excess hours carry forward up to 12 total; no more than 2 hours of safety topics count; 1 hour = 50 minutes. Topics: business, job safety, HVAC codes or HVAC trade subjects.
Deadline rule
Renewal no later than the last day of the licensee's birth month each year (815 KAR 8:010 Sec. 7).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
60 days after expiration, with $25 restoration fee.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $50
Late fee
Renewal within 60 days after expiration with about $25 restoration fee added (total about $75).
Reinstatement
Within 3 years of termination: about $50 per 12-month period, max about $150, plus renewal requirements. Inactive about $20; reactivation about $20.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Individual journeyman license, listed for completeness. Fees from 815 KAR 8:010 and Form DHBC L-1. Renewals can be filed online through the DHBC HBC Online portal (a license must be within 60 days of expiration to appear for renewal) or by mailing Form DHBC L-1; fees are payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer. DHBC main phone (502) 573-0365; licensing phone (502) 573-2002.

Master HVAC Contractor

Master HVAC · State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
6 hours
Show CE rules6 hours of DHBC-approved CE completed in the 12 months before renewal (815 KAR 2:010); excess hours carry forward up to 12 total; max 2 hours safety topics; 1 hour = 50 minutes; licensee submits proof with Form DHBC L-1; approved providers/courses per 815 KAR 2:020.
Deadline rule
Renewal application must be filed no later than the last day of the licensee's birth month each year. A license not timely renewed immediately expires (815 KAR 8:010 Sec. 7).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
60 days after expiration, with $125 restoration fee.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $250
Late fee
Renewal filed within 60 days after expiration is accepted with a $125 restoration fee added (total about $375).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Terminated license may be reinstated within 3 years of termination: about $250 per 12-month period, max about $750, plus renewal requirements. After 3 years must meet initial licensure requirements. Inactive status about $20; reactivation about $20.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability of at least $500,000 and property damage of at least $300,000, from a carrier licensed and approved by the Kentucky Department of Insurance (KRS 198B.668). Proof must be submitted before issuance or renewal, with DHBC as certificate holder (Form DHBC L-1). The license is not valid without the insurance. Proof also exempts the licensee from separate insurance requirements in local jurisdictions.
Notes

Fees from 815 KAR 8:010 and DHBC Form L-1 (April 2023 edition). Initial licenses may be prorated for 7 to 18 months and expire on the last day of the applicant's birth month. Renewals can be filed online through the DHBC HBC Online portal (a license must be within 60 days of expiration to appear for renewal) or by mailing Form DHBC L-1; fees are payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer. DHBC main phone (502) 573-0365; licensing phone (502) 573-2002. Louisville Metro also issues its own local HVAC contractor license ($200, term March 1 to end of February) that requires a Kentucky Master HVAC Contractor License; local licensing varies by city.

Pest control3 license types

Structural Pest Management Applicator License (employee)

Applicator · State license · Kentucky Department of Agriculture - Division of Environmental Services (Structural Pest Management)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
12 hours12 CEUs per 3 years, same as operator.
Deadline rule
Expires December 31; application filed on or before January 1 each year (KRS 217B.522); renewal by January 31 per 302 KAR 26:020.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Through January 31.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $25
Late fee
Fines may apply before retesting; amount not stated.
Reinstatement
After January 31, must retest as initial applicant.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Fee is $25 per applicator license (KRS 217B.522; 302 KAR 26:020 Sec. 2). The company must report employee additions and terminations within 30 days and list employees at renewal. Applicators must be employed by a structural pest management company or supervised by a licensed operator. Online renewal is through the Kentucky Department of Agriculture Licensing and Certification portal.

Structural Pest Management Company Registration

Company registration · State license · Kentucky Department of Agriculture - Division of Environmental Services (Structural Pest Management)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Registration expires December 31 of the year for which it is issued; renew annually on or before January 1 of the calendar year for which registration is issued (KRS 217B.538(2)).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $75
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)If the insurance becomes unsatisfactory and is not replaced, the department cancels the registration and no one may work for the company until insurance is restored and the registration reinstated (KRS 217B.516(3)).

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 maintained at all times during the registration period. The Kentucky Department of Agriculture must be notified at least 10 days before any reduction or cancellation. A deductible up to $5,000 is accepted; a security bond or other insurance is required only to cover an unsatisfied deductible (KRS 217B.516).
Notes

KRS 217B.538 sets $75 per registration. KRS 217B.535(2) separately says companies register annually and pay $50 for each office; the two statutes are not reconciled, so confirm with the Kentucky Department of Agriculture which fee applies. At least one licensed operator is required per company, and the company must list its employees at renewal and report employee additions or terminations within 30 days (302 KAR 26:020 Sec. 9). Kentucky Department of Agriculture phone (502) 573-0282.

Structural Pest Management Operator License (Category 7a, 7b)

Operator · State license · Kentucky Department of Agriculture - Division of Environmental Services (Structural Pest Management)

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
12 hours
Show CE rules12 KDA-approved CEUs in the three-year period before the annual renewal application, including at least one core topic and one specific-standards topic and at least one CEU per category held (302 KAR 26:020 Sec. 6). Insufficient CEUs: must pass exam for the license before renewal.
Deadline rule
Licenses expire December 31 each year (302 KAR 26:020 Sec. 9). Renewal must be completed by January 31; after January 31 the holder must retest as an initial applicant.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Through January 31; failure to renew after January 31 requires retesting as an initial applicant after paying fines.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $100
Late fee
Applicable fines must be paid before retesting (amount not stated in the regulation).
Reinstatement
Retest as initial applicant (structural exam 70% minimum, 5 hours, 260+ questions) after January 31.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Annual fee $100 per operator license (KRS 217B.535(1); 302 KAR 26:020 Sec. 2). Exam fee is $25. At least one operator is required per structural pest management company. Applicants need 2 years of verified structural pest management experience or an entomology degree (KRS 217B.520). Online renewal is through the Kentucky Department of Agriculture Licensing and Certification portal.

Plumbing2 license types

Journeyman Plumber

Journeyman Plumber · State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
6 hours
Show CE rules6 hours of approved CE in the 12 months before renewal (815 KAR 2:010); same carryover and safety limits as master plumber.
Deadline rule
Last day of birth month each year (KRS 318.054).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
180 days after expiration, then the license is automatically canceled.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $60
Late fee
Revival fee of about $3 added to the renewal fee (KRS 318.054(4)).
Reinstatement
After cancellation: all delinquent renewal fees plus a $6 revival fee. Inactive about $30; reactivation about $30 plus renewal requirements.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Fees from 815 KAR 20:030 and KRS 318.054. Renewals can be filed online through the DHBC HBC Online portal or by mailing Form DHBC L-1.

Master Plumber

Master Plumber · State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
6 hours
Show CE rules6 hours of approved CE in the 12 months before renewal (815 KAR 2:010; KRS 318.054(2)); excess hours carry forward up to 12 total; no more than 2 hours of safety topics count. Topics: business, job safety, Kentucky State Plumbing Code or plumbing trade subjects. Proof is submitted with Form DHBC L-1.
Deadline rule
Licenses expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month each year (KRS 318.054); DHBC sends notice at least 30 days before expiration.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
180 days after expiration to renew with the revival fee and CE; if not paid within 180 days the license is automatically canceled.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $250
Late fee
A master plumber who renews late pays the renewal fee plus a $5 revival fee and must show completed CE (KRS 318.054(4)).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)After cancellation, the license may be reinstated on payment of all delinquent renewal fees plus a $10 revival fee (KRS 318.054(4)). Inactive status about $125; reactivation about $125 plus renewal requirements (815 KAR 20:030 Sec. 4).

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability insurance of at least $250,000 plus proof of compliance with workers' compensation and unemployment insurance laws (KRS 318.030(2)). Proof must be submitted before issuance or renewal of the active master plumber license, and the license is not valid without it.
Notes

Fees from 815 KAR 20:030 Sec. 4 and Form DHBC L-1; late and reinstatement amounts from KRS 318.054. No surety bond is required by the plumbing statute. The master plumber license is used to pull permits, so a plumbing company needs one on staff. DHBC sends a renewal notice at least 30 days before expiration. Renewals can be filed online through the DHBC HBC Online portal (a license must be within 60 days of expiration to appear for renewal) or by mailing Form DHBC L-1. DHBC licensing phone (502) 573-2002.

Roofing1 license type

Roofing contractor (no state license; local only)

Local / county license

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Set locally. Example: Louisville Metro Building (Type A or B) contractor licenses run January 1 to December 31 and are renewed annually; Lexington-Fayette requires contractors to register with Building Inspection.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Kentucky has no statewide roofing license or registration. Roofers are licensed or registered by city or county, so renewal dates and fees depend on the jurisdiction. Local fees are not captured here.

Licensing boards

Kentucky Department of Agriculture - Division of Environmental Services (Structural Pest Management)

Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet

Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government - Building Inspection, Contractor Registration (local example)

Louisville Metro Construction Review (local example)

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Get your Kentucky renewal dates into one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.