ClearLicensed renewal checklist
Kentucky contractor license renewal checklist
Informational: verify with the issuing board. Fees are approximate and rules change. One block per license type: tick each line as you go.
HVAC
Journeyman HVAC Mechanic (Journeyman HVAC)
State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet
- Deadline
- Renewal no later than the last day of the licensee's birth month each year (815 KAR 8:010 Sec. 7).
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 6 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $50. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- Renewal within 60 days after expiration with about $25 restoration fee added (total about $75).
- Grace period
- 60 days after expiration, with $25 restoration fee.
- Official link
- https://dhbc.ky.gov/HBCOnline/login
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 6 hours of continuing education
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $50, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Master HVAC Contractor (Master HVAC)
State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet
- Deadline
- Renewal application must be filed no later than the last day of the licensee's birth month each year. A license not timely renewed immediately expires (815 KAR 8:010 Sec. 7).
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 6 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $250. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- Renewal filed within 60 days after expiration is accepted with a $125 restoration fee added (total about $375).
- Grace period
- 60 days after expiration, with $125 restoration fee.
- Insurance
- General liability of at least $500,000 and property damage of at least $300,000, from a carrier licensed and approved by the Kentucky Department of Insurance (KRS 198B.668). Proof must be submitted before issuance or renewal, with DHBC as certificate holder (Form DHBC L-1). The license is not valid without the insurance. Proof also exempts the licensee from separate insurance requirements in local jurisdictions.
- Official link
- https://dhbc.ky.gov/HBCOnline/login
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 6 hours of continuing education
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $250, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Electrical
Electrical Contractor (CE)
State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet
- Deadline
- Licenses are biennial (for licenses issued or renewed on or after July 15, 2024). Renew on or before the last day of the licensee's birth month in the second year. Business entities without a birth month renew on or before the last day of the month the license was issued, in the second year (KRS 227A.100(1); 815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 8).
- Renewal cycle
- Every 2 years
- CE hours
- 6 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $400. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $50 late renewal fee. If all renewal documents are postmarked on or before the last day of the renewal month, the filing is timely and no late fee applies (815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 9).
- Grace period
- 60-day grace period after expiration during which the licensee may continue to practice and renew by paying the renewal fee plus the late fee (KRS 227A.100(2)).
- Insurance
- General liability policy of at least $1,000,000 (KRS 227A.060(1)(c); 227A.100(8)) plus workers' compensation proof (insurance certificate from a provider approved by the Kentucky Department of Insurance, or a notarized statement that coverage is not required and why). DHBC Electrical Licensing must be the certificate holder, and insurers must notify DHBC of cancellation or lowered limits (815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 6). A Kentucky master electrician must hold or be employed by the contractor.
- Official link
- https://dhbc.ky.gov/HBCOnline/login
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 6 hours of continuing education
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $400, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Master Electrician (ME)
State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet
- Deadline
- Biennial; renew on or before the last day of the licensee's birth month in the second year (KRS 227A.100(1); 815 KAR 35:060 Sec. 8).
- Renewal cycle
- Every 2 years
- CE hours
- 6 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $200. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $50 late renewal fee; filing is timely if documents are postmarked by the last day of the renewal month.
- Grace period
- 60-day grace period after expiration (renewal fee plus late fee).
- Official link
- https://dhbc.ky.gov/HBCOnline/login
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 6 hours of continuing education
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $200, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Plumbing
Journeyman Plumber (Journeyman Plumber)
State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet
- Deadline
- Last day of birth month each year (KRS 318.054).
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 6 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $60. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- Revival fee of about $3 added to the renewal fee (KRS 318.054(4)).
- Grace period
- 180 days after expiration, then the license is automatically canceled.
- Official link
- https://dhbc.ky.gov/HBCOnline/login
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 6 hours of continuing education
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $60, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Master Plumber (Master Plumber)
State license · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Public Protection Cabinet
- Deadline
- Licenses expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month each year (KRS 318.054); DHBC sends notice at least 30 days before expiration.
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 6 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $250. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- A master plumber who renews late pays the renewal fee plus a $5 revival fee and must show completed CE (KRS 318.054(4)).
- Grace period
- 180 days after expiration to renew with the revival fee and CE; if not paid within 180 days the license is automatically canceled.
- Insurance
- General liability insurance of at least $250,000 plus proof of compliance with workers' compensation and unemployment insurance laws (KRS 318.030(2)). Proof must be submitted before issuance or renewal of the active master plumber license, and the license is not valid without it.
- Official link
- https://dhbc.ky.gov/HBCOnline/login
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 6 hours of continuing education
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $250, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Roofing
Roofing contractor (no state license; local only)
Local / county license
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- Set locally. Example: Louisville Metro Building (Type A or B) contractor licenses run January 1 to December 31 and are renewed annually; Lexington-Fayette requires contractors to register with Building Inspection.
- Renewal cycle
- Not published, check with the board
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- Check the official site for the fee.
- Late fee
- Not published, check with the board
- Grace period
- Not published, check with the board
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence medium
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (check the official site for the amount)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Pest control
Structural Pest Management Applicator License (employee) (Applicator)
State license · Kentucky Department of Agriculture - Division of Environmental Services (Structural Pest Management)
- Deadline
- Dec 31 every year
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 12 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $25. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- Fines may apply before retesting; amount not stated.
- Grace period
- Through January 31.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 12 hours of continuing education
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $25, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Structural Pest Management Company Registration (Company registration)
State license · Kentucky Department of Agriculture - Division of Environmental Services (Structural Pest Management)
- Deadline
- Dec 31 every year
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- Not required
- Renewal fee
- About $75. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- Not published, check with the board
- Grace period
- Not published, check with the board
- Insurance
- Liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 maintained at all times during the registration period. The Kentucky Department of Agriculture must be notified at least 10 days before any reduction or cancellation. A deductible up to $5,000 is accepted; a security bond or other insurance is required only to cover an unsatisfied deductible (KRS 217B.516).
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence medium
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $75, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Structural Pest Management Operator License (Category 7a, 7b) (Operator)
State license · Kentucky Department of Agriculture - Division of Environmental Services (Structural Pest Management)
- Deadline
- Dec 31 every year
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 12 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $100. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- Applicable fines must be paid before retesting (amount not stated in the regulation).
- Grace period
- Through January 31; failure to renew after January 31 requires retesting as an initial applicant after paying fines.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 12 hours of continuing education
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $100, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
General contractor
General contractor (no state license; local only)
Local / county license
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- Set locally. Louisville Metro: Building Type A (multiple permits, $125) and Type B (one permit per year, $50) licenses run January 1 to December 31 and are renewed annually, with 6 CE hours for residential Type A or B and a sub-contractor list required at renewal. Lexington-Fayette: contractors register with Building Inspection (limits and renewal fees not published on the city registration page).
- Renewal cycle
- Not published, check with the board
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- Check the official site for the fee.
- Late fee
- Not published, check with the board
- Grace period
- Not published, check with the board
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence medium
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (check the official site for the amount)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup