Skip to content
ClearLicensed

New York contractor license renewal rules

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

License types
14
Licensing boards
4
Trades
6

Electrical2 license types

Electrical contractor (outside NYC)

Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

New York State does not issue a statewide license for this trade. Licensing, where it exists, is set by each city, county or town (for example NYC Department of Buildings, Suffolk County and Westchester County), and a license from one jurisdiction does not transfer to another. State exceptions: the NYS Department of State licenses home inspectors and security or fire alarm installers. Rules must be checked for each place where the contractor works. Suffolk County licenses electricians and plumbers under Article XI of Suffolk County Code chapter 563 (Department of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs). Westchester County licenses electricians and master plumbers on a calendar-year cycle (licenses expire December 31; Trades Licensing Division 914-995-2657).

NYC Master Electrician (Special Electrician similar)

Master Electrician · Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit

Renewal cycle
Every year
Continuing education
8 hours
Show CE rulesDOB-approved course of at least 8 hours completed during the 1 year immediately before renewal (1 RCNY 104-06); submit the original certificate from an approved school. Also the LIC62 physician exam form completed within 90 days before renewal. The business entity must be active with the NYS Department of State to renew.
Deadline rule
1-year license that expires on the licensee's birthday (1 RCNY 104-03(g); Admin Code 27-3015). Renew online in DOB NOW: Licensing before the license expires; late fee applies if filed after the expiration date.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None stated. Late renewal is accepted with the late fee and affidavit.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $90
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)About $400 late renewal fee, plus a notarized affidavit on the DOB-issued seal explaining why the renewal is late (DOB renewal guide Rev 02/26). The older fee chart and license page still show about $310.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late renewal is handled through the about $400 late fee and affidavit. DOB does not state a cutoff for long-expired licenses; contact the DOB Licensing Unit, (212) 393-2259.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Per DOB licensing insurance guidelines: commercial general liability minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence (original notarized broker certification), workers' compensation (forms C105.2, U26.3 or GSI 105.2) and disability (forms DB-120.1 or DB-120.2). A CE-200 exemption affidavit is accepted only if the company has no employees (not allowed for General Contractor or Safety Registration applicants).
Notes

$90 per annual renewal ($60 license + $30 seal). The license term is 1 year on a birthday cycle. A DOB presentation on the DOB NOW licensing release mentions a 3-year electrician license, which conflicts with the rule and the DOB license page; track on a 1-year cycle and confirm the expiration date shown in DOB NOW. Electrician applications moved to DOB NOW in February 2026.

General contractor4 license types

NYC General Contractor Registration (DOB)

GC Registration · State registration · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
3-year registration. Renew online in DOB NOW 30 to 90 days before the expiration date on the registration card.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not stated by DOB.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $240
Late fee
About $50 late renewal fee (about $290 total including the about $240 renewal fee).
Reinstatement
A registration not renewed within one year after expiration cannot be renewed; the contractor must apply for a new registration.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Per DOB licensing insurance guidelines: commercial general liability minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence (original notarized broker certification), workers' compensation (forms C105.2, U26.3 or GSI 105.2) and disability (forms DB-120.1 or DB-120.2). A CE-200 exemption affidavit is accepted only if the company has no employees (not allowed for General Contractor or Safety Registration applicants). General Contractor registration cannot use the CE-200 no-employee exemption.
Notes

Required for contractors who build 1-, 2- or 3-family homes to obtain New Building permits. Renewal fee $240, late fee $50. Renewal requires the notarized LIC6 application and the Child Support Form, uploaded through DOB NOW.

NYC Home Improvement Contractor License (DCWP)

HIC · Local / county license · NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Licenses expire February 28 of odd-numbered years (next: February 28, 2027). DCWP mails a renewal package about 3 months before expiration; send the renewal application, documents and fees at least 15 days before the license expires.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None stated. Renew before expiration to keep operating.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $250
Late fee
No late fee is published by DCWP; the license must be renewed before it expires to continue operating and avoid fines.
Reinstatement
Not stated by DCWP; contact DCWP at (212) 487-4060.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Required: $20,000. Verify the amount with the board.
Insurance
Workers' compensation certificate naming DCWP as holder or a NYS Workers' Compensation Board exemption attestation. The business either enrolls in the DCWP Trust Fund ($200) or submits a $20,000 surety bond.
Notes

Renewal fee is $250 every two years. New license fee depends on filing date: March 1 to August 31 of an odd year $200; September 1 of an odd year to February 28/29 of an even year $150; March 1 to August 31 of an even year $100; September 1 of an even year to February 28 of an odd year $50. Trust Fund enrollment is $200 (participants do not pay again at renewal if the Fund held more than $2 million the prior July); otherwise a $20,000 surety bond naming DCWP is required. Exam retake fee $50 after two attempts.

Suffolk County Home Improvement Contractor License

HIC · Local / county license

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Licenses run two years from issuance and expire on the last day of the 24th month; renewals are for two years (Suffolk County Code 563-6A). A renewal application and fee must be filed before the expiration date.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: the license is null and void on the expiration date.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $400
Late fee
No late fee in the county code. Failing to apply and pay before the expiration date makes the license null and void on that date (563-6C).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)The code does not provide for reinstatement; a lapsed license requires a new application (about $200 application fee, 563-19A). Contact the Department of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Certificates of public liability and property damage insurance and workers' compensation proof must be filed before initial issuance and on any carrier change; a sworn affidavit that all insurance is in effect (or a filed certificate) is required at renewal (563-17C). The Director may require a surety bond up to $100,000 and/or $500,000 per occurrence combined single limit liability coverage (563-11A(4)); home raising or elevating work requires additional coverage including a riggers liability extension (563-11A(5)).
Notes

The code sets the license and renewal fee at $200 per annum (563-19B) and licenses run two years, so the 2-year fee is $400; confirm the amount due with the county. Salesman identification card is $50 per year. A Home Improvement Restitution Fund charge may also apply. Town-level licenses (for example East Hampton) are separate.

Westchester County Home Improvement License

HIC · Local / county license · NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Licenses run for two years and each renewal is for two years (Westchester County Code 863.315). Submit the renewal application before the license expires; renewal forms are emailed to licensees.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Renewal applications are not accepted more than 60 days after the expiration date; after that a new license application is required.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $750
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)About $50 non-refundable late fee if the renewal is accepted after the expiration date (county fee page and application form, effective Jan 1, 2026). The county code also allows a penalty for renewal applications received later than 15 days before expiration.
Reinstatement
After 60 days past expiration a new license application is required (about $750 for a 2-year license).

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Proof of liability and property damage insurance in an amount set by the Director or Sealer (863.314). The Director may also require a bond or cash security up to $50,000.
Notes

The county application form states the Home Improvement License fee is $750 for a 2-year license effective Jan 1, 2026 (up from $500). County code 863.315 sets the renewal fee equal to the license fee, but the amount is blank in the posted code text, so confirm the renewal amount with the county. Other fees: expedited processing $100, vehicle decal $10 each, duplicate certificate $50. Westchester also issues separate trade licenses for plumbing and electrical work. Phone (914) 995-2155; the application form lists (914) 995-2211.

HVAC2 license types

HVAC contractor (outside NYC)

Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

New York State does not issue a statewide license for this trade. Licensing, where it exists, is set by each city, county or town (for example NYC Department of Buildings, Suffolk County and Westchester County), and a license from one jurisdiction does not transfer to another. State exceptions: the NYS Department of State licenses home inspectors and security or fire alarm installers. Rules must be checked for each place where the contractor works. Federal EPA Section 608 refrigerant certification applies separately.

Confidence: MediumMostly confirmed from official pages, some details are older or partly confirmedLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Oil Burner Equipment Installer (Class A all oil-burning equipment / Class B domestic fuel oils 1-4)

Class A / Class B · Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
3-year license. Renew online in DOB NOW 30 to 60 days before the expiration date on the license card to avoid the late fee.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not stated by DOB.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $150
Late fee
About $200 total (about $150 renewal plus about $50 late fee) when filed after the 30 day window.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Per DOB licensing insurance guidelines: commercial general liability minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence (original notarized broker certification), workers' compensation (forms C105.2, U26.3 or GSI 105.2) and disability (forms DB-120.1 or DB-120.2). A CE-200 exemption affidavit is accepted only if the company has no employees (not allowed for General Contractor or Safety Registration applicants).
Notes

NYC only. $150 = $75 license renewal + $75 seal renewal. The NYC Fire Department separately issues refrigeration and other certificates of fitness (not covered here). DOB Licensing Unit (212) 393-2259.

Pest control3 license types

Certified Commercial Pesticide Applicator - Structural & Rodent Control (7A)

7A · State license · NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Bureau of Pesticides Management

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
12 hours
Show CE rules12 credits per 3-year cycle for category 7A, of which at least 25% (3 credits) must be specific to 7A and the rest may be core or category credits; or pass the recertification exam instead of taking credits. Distance learning courses approved by DEC count. Other categories per 3-year cycle: 7B 6, 7C 8, 7D 6, 7F 12, 7G 5.
Deadline rule
Certification valid 3 years; recertification is due by the expiration date on the applicator ID card. Apply 4 to 6 weeks before that date.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
90 days after the due date to submit the application, credits and fee without extra credits.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $450
Late fee
No late fee is stated. If DEC does not receive the application, credits and fee within 90 days after the due date, 6 additional credits are required.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A certification expired for more than 2 years cannot be recertified; the applicant must follow the new certification process (core and category exams).

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

$450 for one category and $150 for each additional category, per 3-year cycle; DEC mails an invoice after approval (do not send payment with the application). Commercial technicians pay $450 per 3 years and hold a single category.

Certified Commercial Pesticide Technician

Technician · State license · NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Bureau of Pesticides Management

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
3-year cycle; recertification is due by the expiration date on the ID card. Apply 4 to 6 weeks before that date.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
DEC's technician page does not state a grace period. The applicator recertification page allows 90 days after the due date (with 6 additional credits if missed).

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $450
Late fee
No late fee is stated.
Reinstatement
A certification expired for more than 2 years cannot be recertified; follow the new certification process.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Technician fee is $450 per 3 years, invoiced after approval. Technicians hold only one category, cannot apply restricted use pesticides without supervision by a certified applicator, and cannot qualify a business for categories that require a certified applicator (7A-7D, 7F, 7G).

Commercial Pesticide Business Registration (structural pest control categories 7A-7D, 7F, 7G)

Business · State license · NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Bureau of Pesticides Management

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
Registration valid 3 years (actual term 2.5 to 3.5 years depending on DEC region). Submit the renewal application at least 45 days before the current registration expires.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None stated. Renewal must be submitted at least 45 days before expiry.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $900
Late fee
Fees are not prorated for late renewals. No separate penalty is listed.
Reinstatement
Not detailed by DEC; contact the Bureau of Pesticides Management.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Commercial general liability at least $1,000,000 per occurrence; certificate names NYSDEC as holder, shows registered location; new certificate yearly at policy renewal.
Notes

The $900 fee to register or renew is invoiced after application review; do not pay with the application. A separate Commercial Permit for selling restricted-use pesticides is $600. Phone 518-402-8748.

Plumbing2 license types

NYC Master Plumber / Master Fire Suppression Piping Contractor

Master Plumber · Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
7 hours
Show CE rulesOne 7-hour DOB-approved continuing education course completed during the 1 year immediately before renewal (1 RCNY 104-06); the original Certificate of Completion is uploaded. Also the LIC62 physician exam form completed within 90 days before renewal.
Deadline rule
3-year license. Submit the renewal in DOB NOW 30 to 90 days before the expiration date on the license card to avoid a late fee.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Late renewals are accepted with a late fee up to 1 year after expiration.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $225
Late fee
About $275 total (1 to 30 days late, includes about $50 late fee); about $325 total (31 days to 1 year late, includes about $100 late fee).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Late renewal is allowed up to 1 year after expiration with the late fee; DOB does not publish a renewal path for licenses expired longer than that, so contact the DOB Licensing Unit.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Per DOB licensing insurance guidelines: commercial general liability minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence (original notarized broker certification), workers' compensation (forms C105.2, U26.3 or GSI 105.2) and disability (forms DB-120.1 or DB-120.2). A CE-200 exemption affidavit is accepted only if the company has no employees (not allowed for General Contractor or Safety Registration applicants).
Notes

$225 = $150 license + $75 seal. Journeyman plumber registration has no expiration ($50).

Plumbing contractor (outside NYC)

Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

New York State does not issue a statewide license for this trade. Licensing, where it exists, is set by each city, county or town (for example NYC Department of Buildings, Suffolk County and Westchester County), and a license from one jurisdiction does not transfer to another. State exceptions: the NYS Department of State licenses home inspectors and security or fire alarm installers. Rules must be checked for each place where the contractor works. The NYS Department of State issues no plumbing credential. Suffolk County (Code chapter 563, Article XI) and Westchester County license plumbers; Westchester licenses expire December 31 and master plumber renewal applications are due 60 days before expiration (received after October 31 incurs a late fee); Trades Licensing Division 914-995-2657.

Roofing1 license type

Roofing contractor

Local / county license · NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Not published, check with the board
Continuing education
Set by your city or county
Deadline rule
Not published, check with the board
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Not published, check with the board

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
Check the official site for the fee.
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

New York State does not issue a statewide license for this trade. Licensing, where it exists, is set by each city, county or town (for example NYC Department of Buildings, Suffolk County and Westchester County), and a license from one jurisdiction does not transfer to another. State exceptions: the NYS Department of State licenses home inspectors and security or fire alarm installers. Rules must be checked for each place where the contractor works. No separate roofing license exists at state level or at NYC DOB; residential roofing work falls under local home improvement contractor licensing (see the general contractor entries, for example the NYC DCWP Home Improvement Contractor license).

Confidence: MediumMostly confirmed from official pages, some details are older or partly confirmedLast checked Oct 17, 2026
Sources (2)

Licensing boards

NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit

NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection

NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Bureau of Pesticides Management

NYS Department of State (no contractor licensing; alarm installers and home inspectors only)

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Get your New York renewal dates into one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.