ClearLicensed renewal checklist
New York contractor license renewal checklist
Informational: verify with the issuing board. Fees are approximate and rules change. One block per license type: tick each line as you go.
HVAC
HVAC contractor (outside NYC)
Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- Not published, check with the board
- Renewal cycle
- Not published, check with the board
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- Check the official site for the fee.
- Late fee
- Not published, check with the board
- Grace period
- Not published, check with the board
- Official link
- https://www.nyc.gov/dobnow
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence medium
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (check the official site for the amount)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Oil Burner Equipment Installer (Class A all oil-burning equipment / Class B domestic fuel oils 1-4) (Class A / Class B)
Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- 3-year license. Renew online in DOB NOW 30 to 60 days before the expiration date on the license card to avoid the late fee.
- Renewal cycle
- Every 3 years
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- About $150. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $200 total (about $150 renewal plus about $50 late fee) when filed after the 30 day window.
- Grace period
- Not stated by DOB.
- Insurance
- Per DOB licensing insurance guidelines: commercial general liability minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence (original notarized broker certification), workers' compensation (forms C105.2, U26.3 or GSI 105.2) and disability (forms DB-120.1 or DB-120.2). A CE-200 exemption affidavit is accepted only if the company has no employees (not allowed for General Contractor or Safety Registration applicants).
- Official link
- https://www.nyc.gov/dobnow
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $150, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Electrical
Electrical contractor (outside NYC)
Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- Not published, check with the board
- Renewal cycle
- Not published, check with the board
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- Check the official site for the fee.
- Late fee
- Not published, check with the board
- Grace period
- Not published, check with the board
- Official link
- https://www.nyc.gov/dobnow
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence medium
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (check the official site for the amount)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
NYC Master Electrician (Special Electrician similar) (Master Electrician)
Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- 1-year license that expires on the licensee's birthday (1 RCNY 104-03(g); Admin Code 27-3015). Renew online in DOB NOW: Licensing before the license expires; late fee applies if filed after the expiration date.
- Renewal cycle
- Every year
- CE hours
- 8 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $90. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $400 late renewal fee, plus a notarized affidavit on the DOB-issued seal explaining why the renewal is late (DOB renewal guide Rev 02/26). The older fee chart and license page still show about $310.
- Grace period
- None stated. Late renewal is accepted with the late fee and affidavit.
- Insurance
- Per DOB licensing insurance guidelines: commercial general liability minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence (original notarized broker certification), workers' compensation (forms C105.2, U26.3 or GSI 105.2) and disability (forms DB-120.1 or DB-120.2). A CE-200 exemption affidavit is accepted only if the company has no employees (not allowed for General Contractor or Safety Registration applicants).
- Official link
- https://www.nyc.gov/dobnow
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 8 hours of continuing education
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $90, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Plumbing
NYC Master Plumber / Master Fire Suppression Piping Contractor (Master Plumber)
Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- 3-year license. Submit the renewal in DOB NOW 30 to 90 days before the expiration date on the license card to avoid a late fee.
- Renewal cycle
- Every 3 years
- CE hours
- 7 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $225. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $275 total (1 to 30 days late, includes about $50 late fee); about $325 total (31 days to 1 year late, includes about $100 late fee).
- Grace period
- Late renewals are accepted with a late fee up to 1 year after expiration.
- Insurance
- Per DOB licensing insurance guidelines: commercial general liability minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence (original notarized broker certification), workers' compensation (forms C105.2, U26.3 or GSI 105.2) and disability (forms DB-120.1 or DB-120.2). A CE-200 exemption affidavit is accepted only if the company has no employees (not allowed for General Contractor or Safety Registration applicants).
- Official link
- https://www.nyc.gov/dobnow
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 7 hours of continuing education
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $225, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Plumbing contractor (outside NYC)
Local / county license · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- Not published, check with the board
- Renewal cycle
- Not published, check with the board
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- Check the official site for the fee.
- Late fee
- Not published, check with the board
- Grace period
- Not published, check with the board
- Official link
- https://www.nyc.gov/dobnow
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence medium
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (check the official site for the amount)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Roofing
Roofing contractor
Local / county license · NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- Not published, check with the board
- Renewal cycle
- Not published, check with the board
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- Check the official site for the fee.
- Late fee
- Not published, check with the board
- Grace period
- Not published, check with the board
- Official link
- https://www.nyc.gov/site/dca/businesses/license-checklist-home-improvement-contractor.page
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence medium
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (check the official site for the amount)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Pest control
Certified Commercial Pesticide Applicator - Structural & Rodent Control (7A) (7A)
State license · NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Bureau of Pesticides Management
- Deadline
- Certification valid 3 years; recertification is due by the expiration date on the applicator ID card. Apply 4 to 6 weeks before that date.
- Renewal cycle
- Every 3 years
- CE hours
- 12 hours
- Renewal fee
- About $450. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- No late fee is stated. If DEC does not receive the application, credits and fee within 90 days after the due date, 6 additional credits are required.
- Grace period
- 90 days after the due date to submit the application, credits and fee without extra credits.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Completion certificates for 12 hours of continuing education
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $450, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Certified Commercial Pesticide Technician (Technician)
State license · NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Bureau of Pesticides Management
- Deadline
- 3-year cycle; recertification is due by the expiration date on the ID card. Apply 4 to 6 weeks before that date.
- Renewal cycle
- Every 3 years
- CE hours
- Not required
- Renewal fee
- About $450. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- No late fee is stated.
- Grace period
- DEC's technician page does not state a grace period. The applicator recertification page allows 90 days after the due date (with 6 additional credits if missed).
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $450, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Commercial Pesticide Business Registration (structural pest control categories 7A-7D, 7F, 7G) (Business)
State license · NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Bureau of Pesticides Management
- Deadline
- Registration valid 3 years (actual term 2.5 to 3.5 years depending on DEC region). Submit the renewal application at least 45 days before the current registration expires.
- Renewal cycle
- Every 3 years
- CE hours
- Not required
- Renewal fee
- About $900. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- Fees are not prorated for late renewals. No separate penalty is listed.
- Grace period
- None stated. Renewal must be submitted at least 45 days before expiry.
- Insurance
- Commercial general liability at least $1,000,000 per occurrence; certificate names NYSDEC as holder, shows registered location; new certificate yearly at policy renewal.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $900, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
General contractor
NYC General Contractor Registration (DOB) (GC Registration)
State registration · NYC Department of Buildings - Licensing & Exams Unit
- Deadline
- 3-year registration. Renew online in DOB NOW 30 to 90 days before the expiration date on the registration card.
- Renewal cycle
- Every 3 years
- CE hours
- Not required
- Renewal fee
- About $240. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $50 late renewal fee (about $290 total including the about $240 renewal fee).
- Grace period
- Not stated by DOB.
- Insurance
- Per DOB licensing insurance guidelines: commercial general liability minimum $1,000,000 per occurrence (original notarized broker certification), workers' compensation (forms C105.2, U26.3 or GSI 105.2) and disability (forms DB-120.1 or DB-120.2). A CE-200 exemption affidavit is accepted only if the company has no employees (not allowed for General Contractor or Safety Registration applicants). General Contractor registration cannot use the CE-200 no-employee exemption.
- Official link
- https://www.nyc.gov/dobnow
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $240, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
NYC Home Improvement Contractor License (DCWP) (HIC)
Local / county license · NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- the last day of Feb of odd years
- Renewal cycle
- Every 2 years
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- About $250. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- No late fee is published by DCWP; the license must be renewed before it expires to continue operating and avoid fines.
- Grace period
- None stated. Renew before expiration to keep operating.
- Insurance
- Workers' compensation certificate naming DCWP as holder or a NYS Workers' Compensation Board exemption attestation. The business either enrolls in the DCWP Trust Fund ($200) or submits a $20,000 surety bond.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Bond in force for $20,000. Verify the amount with the board.
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $250, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Suffolk County Home Improvement Contractor License (HIC)
Local / county license
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- Licenses run two years from issuance and expire on the last day of the 24th month; renewals are for two years (Suffolk County Code 563-6A). A renewal application and fee must be filed before the expiration date.
- Renewal cycle
- Every 2 years
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- About $400. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- No late fee in the county code. Failing to apply and pay before the expiration date makes the license null and void on that date (563-6C).
- Grace period
- None: the license is null and void on the expiration date.
- Insurance
- Certificates of public liability and property damage insurance and workers' compensation proof must be filed before initial issuance and on any carrier change; a sworn affidavit that all insurance is in effect (or a filed certificate) is required at renewal (563-17C). The Director may require a surety bond up to $100,000 and/or $500,000 per occurrence combined single limit liability coverage (563-11A(4)); home raising or elevating work requires additional coverage including a riggers liability extension (563-11A(5)).
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence high
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $400, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup
Westchester County Home Improvement License (HIC)
Local / county license · NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection
Issued by your city or county: the deadline and fees depend on where you work.
- Deadline
- Licenses run for two years and each renewal is for two years (Westchester County Code 863.315). Submit the renewal application before the license expires; renewal forms are emailed to licensees.
- Renewal cycle
- Every 2 years
- CE hours
- Set by your city or county
- Renewal fee
- About $750. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.
- Late fee
- About $50 non-refundable late fee if the renewal is accepted after the expiration date (county fee page and application form, effective Jan 1, 2026). The county code also allows a penalty for renewal applications received later than 15 days before expiration.
- Grace period
- Renewal applications are not accepted more than 60 days after the expiration date; after that a new license application is required.
- Insurance
- Proof of liability and property damage insurance in an amount set by the Director or Sealer (863.314). The Director may also require a bond or cash security up to $50,000.
- Last verified
- Oct 17, 2026, confidence medium
Have ready
- Your license number and your login for the board portal
- Certificate of insurance that meets the requirement above
- A card or account to pay the renewal fee (about $750, fees change)
After filing
- Renewal submitted
- Confirmation number or receipt saved
- New expiration date checked on the board lookup