Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Hawaii electrical continuing education requirements

2 of the 4 Hawaii electrical license types we track need continuing education. The rules, the sources and the date we last checked them are below.

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

CE required, hours not published

Applies to: Journey Worker Electrician and Supervising Electrician

CE hours
Not published, check with the board
Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Renewal deadline
Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029.
License level
State license
Board
Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL)

The CE rules, as recorded from the sources

Hours and topics

  • Hours are not stated on the Board page.

Who approves courses

  • Approved providers: Honolulu Community College (808-845-9296) and the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund (808-847-0629); either can send proof directly to the Board, otherwise submit a copy of the completion certificate.

Proof and reporting

  • Active EJ, EJI, EJS, ES, ESI and ESS electricians (not maintenance EM) must submit proof of a continuing competency course on the updates to the 2020 NEC for the July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2026 period.

First renewal, exemptions and inactive licenses

  • One-time exemption if the license was issued within 1 year of expiration; inactive licenses are exempt.

Other details

  • The requirement for the 2026 to 2029 period has not been published on the Board page.

Track your CE hours and renewal dates

Add your Hawaii Electrical license, log CE certificates as you finish them, and get an email before the renewal is due.

Start the free trial

Hawaii Electrical licenses with no CE on file

Our records list no continuing education requirement for these license types. Check with the board, rules change.

  • Electrical Contractor (C-13) - Entity / Sole Proprietor
  • Electrical Contractor (C-13) - RME (individual qualifier)

How CE fits into the Hawaii renewal

Our records count these hours per renewal, so the renewal deadline is the date to plan around. Finish the courses early enough for the hours to be reported and for the certificates to reach you, then renew on the official site. The full renewal rules, fees and late fees are in the Hawaii Electrical renewal guide.

Hawaii Electrical CE questions

Answers come from the records above. Informational: verify with the issuing board.

How many CE hours does a Hawaii electrical license need?

Journey Worker Electrician and Supervising Electrician: CE is required, but the hours are not published (the license renews every 3 years). Check with Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

What does Hawaii electrical continuing education have to cover?

Hours are not stated on the Board page. Check with Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

Who approves Hawaii electrical CE courses?

Approved providers: Honolulu Community College (808-845-9296) and the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund (808-847-0629); either can send proof directly to the Board, otherwise submit a copy of the completion certificate. Check with Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

How do you prove Hawaii electrical CE hours?

Active EJ, EJI, EJS, ES, ESI and ESS electricians (not maintenance EM) must submit proof of a continuing competency course on the updates to the 2020 NEC for the July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2026 period. Check with Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

When do Hawaii electrical CE hours have to be done?

Journey Worker Electrician and Supervising Electrician: Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029. Check with Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Keep your Hawaii Electrical CE and renewal on one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.