Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Hawaii Electrical License Renewal: Deadlines, Fees and CE

Hawaii has 4 Electrical license classes. Most renew every 2 years. Renewal fees are about $208 to $338, depending on the class. Fees change, so check the official site for the exact amount. The details for each class are below.

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

Electrical Contractor (C-13) - Entity / Sole Proprietor

C-13 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $338
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $388 active entity or sole proprietor, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Reciprocity
None. CLB FAQ (2018): Hawaii has no reciprocity agreements; all applicants must meet same licensing and exam requirements.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-13 Electrical contractor. Individuals actually performing electrical work also need an HRS 448E electrician license (EJ/ES) - see individual entries.

Track this renewal

Add your Hawaii Electrical license to ClearLicensed and we will email you 90, 60, 30, 14, 7 and 1 day before it expires.

Start the free trialOr have our team file it for you

Electrical Contractor (C-13) - RME (individual qualifier)

C-13 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $208
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $258 active RME, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Reciprocity
None. CLB FAQ (2018): Hawaii has no reciprocity agreements; all applicants must meet same licensing and exam requirements.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-13 Electrical contractor. Individuals actually performing electrical work also need an HRS 448E electrician license (EJ/ES) - see individual entries.

Journey Worker Electrician

EJ · State license · Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesActive EJ, EJI, EJS, ES, ESI and ESS electricians (not maintenance EM) must submit proof of a continuing competency course on the updates to the 2020 NEC for the July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2026 period. Approved providers: Honolulu Community College (808-845-9296) and the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund (808-847-0629); either can send proof directly to the Board, otherwise submit a copy of the completion certificate. Hours are not stated on the Board page. One-time exemption if the license was issued within 1 year of expiration; inactive licenses are exempt. The requirement for the 2026 to 2029 period has not been published on the Board page.
Deadline rule
Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: unrenewed license is forfeited, holder unlicensed and may not practice.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $306
Late fee
Restoration fee about $406 active / about $112 inactive (on-time renewal about $306 active / about $12 inactive).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 1 year after expiration with the restoration fee and any restoration requirements. After 1 year the license terminates and the holder must reapply as a new applicant.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Not published, check with the board
Notes

Individual license is required to perform the work in addition to the contractor license (HRS 448E and HRS 444-9.5). Fee $306 active / $12 inactive per renewal. Restoration window for 2026 expirations runs to June 30, 2027.

Supervising Electrician

ES · State license · Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesActive EJ, EJI, EJS, ES, ESI and ESS electricians (not maintenance EM) must submit proof of a continuing competency course on the updates to the 2020 NEC for the July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2026 period. Approved providers: Honolulu Community College (808-845-9296) and the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund (808-847-0629); either can send proof directly to the Board, otherwise submit a copy of the completion certificate. Hours are not stated on the Board page. One-time exemption if the license was issued within 1 year of expiration; inactive licenses are exempt. The requirement for the 2026 to 2029 period has not been published on the Board page.
Deadline rule
Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: unrenewed license is forfeited, holder unlicensed and may not practice.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $306
Late fee
Restoration fee about $406 active / about $112 inactive (on-time renewal about $306 active / about $12 inactive).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 1 year after expiration with the restoration fee and any restoration requirements. After 1 year the license terminates and the holder must reapply as a new applicant.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Reciprocity
Not published, check with the board
Notes

Individual license is required to perform the work in addition to the contractor license (HRS 448E and HRS 444-9.5). Fee $306 active / $12 inactive per renewal. Restoration window for 2026 expirations runs to June 30, 2027.

The hours, required topics, approved providers and reporting rules for each license are on the Hawaii Electrical continuing education page.

How to renew

  1. 1Check your Electrical Contractor (C-13) - Entity / Sole Proprietor deadline: September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
  2. 2Confirm your insurance meet the board requirements and are not expiring.
  3. 3Renew online at https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov
  4. 4Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $338, but fees change.
  5. 5If you miss the deadline: Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $388 active entity or sole proprietor, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
  6. 6Check your Electrical Contractor (C-13) - RME (individual qualifier) deadline: September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
  7. 7Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $208, but fees change.
  8. 8If you miss the deadline: Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $258 active RME, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
  9. 9Check your Journey Worker Electrician deadline: Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029.
  10. 10Pay the renewal fee on the official site. Expect about $306, but fees change.
  11. 11If you miss the deadline: Restoration fee about $406 active / about $112 inactive (on-time renewal about $306 active / about $12 inactive).
  12. 12Check your Supervising Electrician deadline: Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029.

Hawaii Electrical renewal questions

Answers come from the records above. Informational: verify with the issuing board.

When does a Hawaii electrical license expire?

Electrical Contractor (C-13) - Entity / Sole Proprietor: renews every 2 years. September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov. Electrical Contractor (C-13) - RME (individual qualifier): renews every 2 years. September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov. Journey Worker Electrician: renews every 3 years. Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029. Check with Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

How many CE hours does a Hawaii electrical license need?

Electrical Contractor (C-13) - Entity / Sole Proprietor: no CE required. Electrical Contractor (C-13) - RME (individual qualifier): no CE required. Journey Worker Electrician: CE is required, but the hours are not published. Check with Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

Is there a grace period for a Hawaii electrical license?

No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored. Check with Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

How much does it cost to renew a Hawaii electrical license?

Electrical Contractor (C-13) - Entity / Sole Proprietor: About $338. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

What happens if a Hawaii electrical license expires?

Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $388 active entity or sole proprietor, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available. Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Does Hawaii accept electrical licenses from other states?

None. CLB FAQ (2018): Hawaii has no reciprocity agreements; all applicants must meet same licensing and exam requirements. Check with Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL) before you rely on it.

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Keep your Hawaii Electrical license current.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.