Skip to content
ClearLicensed

Hawaii contractor license renewal rules

Full rule details
Verified dataLast checked Oct 17, 2026, next review due July 2027

Informational: verify with the issuing board.

License types
17
Licensing boards
4
Trades
6

Electrical4 license types

Electrical Contractor (C-13) - Entity / Sole Proprietor

C-13 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $338
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $388 active entity or sole proprietor, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-13 Electrical contractor. Individuals actually performing electrical work also need an HRS 448E electrician license (EJ/ES) - see individual entries.

Electrical Contractor (C-13) - RME (individual qualifier)

C-13 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $208
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $258 active RME, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-13 Electrical contractor. Individuals actually performing electrical work also need an HRS 448E electrician license (EJ/ES) - see individual entries.

Journey Worker Electrician

EJ · State license · Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesActive EJ, EJI, EJS, ES, ESI and ESS electricians (not maintenance EM) must submit proof of a continuing competency course on the updates to the 2020 NEC for the July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2026 period. Approved providers: Honolulu Community College (808-845-9296) and the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund (808-847-0629); either can send proof directly to the Board, otherwise submit a copy of the completion certificate. Hours are not stated on the Board page. One-time exemption if the license was issued within 1 year of expiration; inactive licenses are exempt. The requirement for the 2026 to 2029 period has not been published on the Board page.
Deadline rule
Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: unrenewed license is forfeited, holder unlicensed and may not practice.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $306
Late fee
Restoration fee about $406 active / about $112 inactive (on-time renewal about $306 active / about $12 inactive).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 1 year after expiration with the restoration fee and any restoration requirements. After 1 year the license terminates and the holder must reapply as a new applicant.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Individual license is required to perform the work in addition to the contractor license (HRS 448E and HRS 444-9.5). Fee $306 active / $12 inactive per renewal. Restoration window for 2026 expirations runs to June 30, 2027.

Supervising Electrician

ES · State license · Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesActive EJ, EJI, EJS, ES, ESI and ESS electricians (not maintenance EM) must submit proof of a continuing competency course on the updates to the 2020 NEC for the July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2026 period. Approved providers: Honolulu Community College (808-845-9296) and the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund (808-847-0629); either can send proof directly to the Board, otherwise submit a copy of the completion certificate. Hours are not stated on the Board page. One-time exemption if the license was issued within 1 year of expiration; inactive licenses are exempt. The requirement for the 2026 to 2029 period has not been published on the Board page.
Deadline rule
Electricians renew on or before June 30 every three years (2026, 2029, 2032). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026); the next is June 30, 2029.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: unrenewed license is forfeited, holder unlicensed and may not practice.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $306
Late fee
Restoration fee about $406 active / about $112 inactive (on-time renewal about $306 active / about $12 inactive).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 1 year after expiration with the restoration fee and any restoration requirements. After 1 year the license terminates and the holder must reapply as a new applicant.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Individual license is required to perform the work in addition to the contractor license (HRS 448E and HRS 444-9.5). Fee $306 active / $12 inactive per renewal. Restoration window for 2026 expirations runs to June 30, 2027.

General contractor2 license types

General Contractor (A General Engineering / B General Building) - Entity / Sole Proprietor

A/B · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $338
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $388 active entity or sole proprietor, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. Classification A General Engineering and B General Building.

General Contractor (A General Engineering / B General Building) - RME (individual qualifier)

A/B · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $208
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $258 active RME, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. Classification A General Engineering and B General Building.

HVAC2 license types

Ventilating and Air Conditioning Contractor (C-52) - Entity / Sole Proprietor

C-52 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $338
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $388 active entity or sole proprietor, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-52 Ventilating and air conditioning contractor.

Ventilating and Air Conditioning Contractor (C-52) - RME (individual qualifier)

C-52 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $208
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $258 active RME, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-52 Ventilating and air conditioning contractor.

Pest control3 license types

Certified Commercial Pesticide Applicator (Structural 7A-7E)

7A-7E · State license · Hawaii Dept. of Agriculture and Biosecurity, Pesticides Branch

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Every 5 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesCET hours per 5-year period by category: 7A fumigation 25, 7B termite 20, 7C general pest 30, 7D institutional 30, 7E vault fumigation 25, 7F specialty 20. For 7A and 7E, 5 hours must be in subject matter directly related to the category. The Branch page states that online course and quiz credit could count toward at most 75 percent of each category requirement, rounded down, through December 31, 2025; confirm the current online credit limit with the Pesticides Branch. Webinars count as in-person credit. A class counts only once per certification period. Applicators must keep their own class records.
Deadline rule
Certification is valid 5 years. Renewal is allowed no earlier than 3 months before and no later than 30 days after the expiration date, by passing the exam for the same categories or earning the required continuing education training (CET) hours during the 5-year period.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
Renewal is accepted up to 30 days after the expiration date.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $100
Late fee
Check the official site for the fee.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Fees: certification and renewal $100; exams $50 each; duplicate card $50. Pay by check or money order to the Pesticides Branch, 1428 S. King St, Honolulu. Phone (808) 973-9402. Exams and CET records are managed in the Pesticides Education Portal.

Pest Control Field Representative (PCFR)

PCFR · State license · Hawaii Pest Control Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
June 30 of every even-numbered year (HRS 460J-14). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026 for the July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2028 period); next is June 30, 2028. PCFR can renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: a license not renewed by June 30 is forfeited and the holder may not practice.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $212
Late fee
Restoration within 1 year: about $239.50 active PCFR, about $39.50 inactive.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored by hardcopy application within 1 year of the due date with the restoration fee (HRS 460J-14: delinquent fee plus 10 percent). After 1 year the license is terminated and the holder must apply as new. A lapse in required liability or workers' compensation insurance forfeits the license; it is restored on proof of coverage within 60 days.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: at least $100,000 for any one claim and $300,000 aggregate for all claims in a one-year policy term, covering all branches of pest control work performed or subcontracted (HAR 16-94-49). Workers' compensation certificate, self-insurer authorization, or chapter 386 HRS exclusion. The Board must be notified in writing at least 30 days before any cancellation. Firms and sole proprietors also need a DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months.
Notes

Hawaii structural pest control is split between the Pest Control Board (business/operator and field representative licenses) and Department of Agriculture and Biosecurity commercial applicator certification, which is a prerequisite. Fees: PCO active $278 / inactive $12; PCFR active $212 / inactive $12; restoration PCO $333 / $67 and PCFR $239.50 / $39.50. A PCO license is held by the pest control business; RMEs and field representatives renew separately and their employer must be renewed first. The Board page does not list an RME renewal fee.

Pest Control Operator (PCO)

PCO · State license · Hawaii Pest Control Board (DCCA PVL)

We did not find online renewal for this license, so the link may open the board site.

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
June 30 of every even-numbered year (HRS 460J-14). The most recent deadline was June 30, 2026 (renewals accepted May 4 to Jun 30, 2026 for the July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2028 period); next is June 30, 2028. PCO on active status must renew by hardcopy form only.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: a license not renewed by June 30 is forfeited and the holder may not practice.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $278
Late fee
Restoration within 1 year: about $333 active PCO, about $67 inactive.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored by hardcopy application within 1 year of the due date with the restoration fee (HRS 460J-14: delinquent fee plus 10 percent). After 1 year the license is terminated and the holder must apply as new. A lapse in required liability or workers' compensation insurance forfeits the license; it is restored on proof of coverage within 60 days.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: at least $100,000 for any one claim and $300,000 aggregate for all claims in a one-year policy term, covering all branches of pest control work performed or subcontracted (HAR 16-94-49). Workers' compensation certificate, self-insurer authorization, or chapter 386 HRS exclusion. The Board must be notified in writing at least 30 days before any cancellation. Firms and sole proprietors also need a DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months.
Notes

Hawaii structural pest control is split between the Pest Control Board (business/operator and field representative licenses) and Department of Agriculture and Biosecurity commercial applicator certification, which is a prerequisite. Fees: PCO active $278 / inactive $12; PCFR active $212 / inactive $12; restoration PCO $333 / $67 and PCFR $239.50 / $39.50. A PCO license is held by the pest control business; RMEs and field representatives renew separately and their employer must be renewed first. The Board page does not list an RME renewal fee.

Plumbing4 license types

Journey Worker Plumber

PJ · State license · Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesActive PJ and PM plumbers must submit proof of continuing competency on the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code (University of Hawaii community college course) for the July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2027 period. Hours are not stated on the Board page. One-time exemption if the license was issued within 1 year of expiration; inactive licenses are exempt. Taking the course does not renew the license; the renewal application and fee are also required.
Deadline rule
Plumbers renew on or before June 30 every three years (2027, 2030, 2033). Next deadline June 30, 2027 (renewals accepted May 10 to Jun 30, 2027).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: unrenewed license is forfeited, holder unlicensed and may not practice.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $306
Late fee
Restoration fee about $406 active / about $112 inactive (on-time renewal about $306 active / about $12 inactive).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 1 year after expiration with the restoration fee and any restoration requirements. After 1 year the license terminates and the holder must reapply as a new applicant.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Individual license is required to perform the work in addition to the contractor license (HRS 448E and HRS 444-9.5). Fee $306 active / $12 inactive per renewal.

Master Plumber

PM · State license · Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Required, but the hours are not published. Check with the board
Show CE rulesActive PJ and PM plumbers must submit proof of continuing competency on the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code (University of Hawaii community college course) for the July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2027 period. Hours are not stated on the Board page. One-time exemption if the license was issued within 1 year of expiration; inactive licenses are exempt. Taking the course does not renew the license; the renewal application and fee are also required.
Deadline rule
Plumbers renew on or before June 30 every three years (2027, 2030, 2033). Next deadline June 30, 2027 (renewals accepted May 10 to Jun 30, 2027).
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
None: unrenewed license is forfeited, holder unlicensed and may not practice.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $306
Late fee
Restoration fee about $406 active / about $112 inactive (on-time renewal about $306 active / about $12 inactive).
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 1 year after expiration with the restoration fee and any restoration requirements. After 1 year the license terminates and the holder must reapply as a new applicant.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
Not required
Notes

Individual license is required to perform the work in addition to the contractor license (HRS 448E and HRS 444-9.5). Fee $306 active / $12 inactive per renewal.

Plumbing Contractor (C-37) - Entity / Sole Proprietor

C-37 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $338
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $388 active entity or sole proprietor, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-37 Plumbing contractor (sub-classes C-37a-f). Individuals performing plumbing work also need an HRS 448E plumber license (PJ/PM).

Plumbing Contractor (C-37) - RME (individual qualifier)

C-37 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $208
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $258 active RME, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-37 Plumbing contractor (sub-classes C-37a-f). Individuals performing plumbing work also need an HRS 448E plumber license (PJ/PM).

Roofing2 license types

Roofing Contractor (C-42) - Entity / Sole Proprietor

C-42 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $338
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $388 active entity or sole proprietor, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-42 Roofing contractor (sub-classes C-42a-g).

Roofing Contractor (C-42) - RME (individual qualifier)

C-42 · State license · Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not required
Deadline rule
September 30 of every even-numbered year, regardless of issue date. The most recent deadline was September 30, 2026 (renewals accepted Aug 10 to Sep 30, 2026 for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period); the next deadline is September 30, 2028. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov.
Show fees, grace period, bond and insurance
Grace period
No grace period: the license is forfeited on September 30 and the holder may not contract until it is restored.

Fees, approximate

Renewal fee
About $208
Late fee
Show the details (amounts are approximate)Restoration (late renewal) fee: about $258 active RME, about $210 inactive. Restoration must be completed within 60 days after expiration; hardcopy restoration form is available.
Reinstatement
Show the details (amounts are approximate)A forfeited license may be restored within 60 days after expiration (through about November 29) with the restoration fee and required documents. HAR 16-77-51 states restoration on or before November 30 of the renewal year. After that the license is terminated and the holder must apply as a new applicant. A lapse in liability or workers' compensation coverage also forfeits the license; if coverage is not reinstated within 60 days the entity, its RME and sole proprietors must apply as new applicants.

Fees change. Check the official site for the exact amount.

Why approximate?

Boards change fees often and some charge extra processing fees. We show a recent amount so you can plan.

Bond
Not required
Insurance
General liability: bodily injury $100,000 each person and $300,000 each occurrence; property damage $50,000 each occurrence (HAR 16-77-55). Workers' compensation certificate, or a chapter 386 HRS exclusion form for eligible businesses with no employees. Coverage must be continuous. Certificates are submitted through pvlinsurance.dcca.hawaii.gov; emailed certificates are not accepted. A surety bond is required only if imposed by the Board. Entities and sole proprietors also need a current DOTAX tax clearance dated within 6 months of renewal, with the name matching the license.
Notes

Fees for the Oct 1, 2026 to Sep 30, 2028 period: entity $338, sole proprietor $338, active RME $208, inactive all $160. An entity license requires a licensed RME (separate license, separate fee); both must be renewed or the entity license is not renewed. If RME leaves: notify Board within 60 days and replace/inactivate within 90 days or license forfeits. C-42 Roofing contractor (sub-classes C-42a-g).

Licensing boards

Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (DCCA PVL)

Hawaii Contractors License Board (DCCA PVL)

Hawaii Dept. of Agriculture and Biosecurity, Pesticides Branch

Hawaii Pest Control Board (DCCA PVL)

Sources

Spot something out of date?

Informational only. Check it with the issuing board. Licensing rules, deadlines and CE requirements change, fee amounts are approximate, and this page can be out of date. It is not legal advice, and we are not affiliated with any state board. Read the disclaimer.

This information is here to help you plan, not to replace the board. Fee amounts are approximate and may be out of date. Deadlines and continuing education rules change too, sometimes without much notice. Always confirm with your licensing board and its official site before you rely on a date or an amount. This is not legal advice.

Free trial

Get your Hawaii renewal dates into one list.

Try Basic free for 14 days. No credit card.